Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Clouds of Witness

Clouds of Witness

The second book in Dorothy L Sayers Lord Peter Wimsey series introduced by crime novelist Ruth Dudley Edwards – a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Margery Allingham’s Campion Mysteries.

‘D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers’ Daily Telegraph

The Duke of Denver, accused of murder, stands trial for his life in the House of Lords.

Naturally, his brother Lord Peter Wimsey is investigating the crime – this is a family affair. The murder took place at the duke’s shooting lodge and Lord Peter’s sister was engaged to marry the dead man.

But why does the duke refuse to co-operate with the investigation? Can he really be guilty, or is he covering up for someone?

‘She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.’ P. D. James
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery / Classic Crime

On Sale: 15th October 2009

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781848943698

Reviews

She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.
Minette Walters
D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers.
E. C. Bentley, Daily Telegraph
I admire her novels . . . she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail.
Ruth Rendell
She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.
P. D. James