Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1920s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Alexander McCall Smith and Agatha Christie.


‘1920s lady detective Dandy Gilver lands a sleuthing gig in a setting straight out of Enid Blyton,. Cosier than a pair of WI-knitted mittens, Corpses serves up murder most foul – and is also good for several giggles.’ TIME OUT

Before she was a detective, before she was a reluctant wife and distracted mother, before she was even a debutante, Dandy Gilver spent one perfect summer with the Lipscotts of Pereford. The golden memories of it have sustained her through many a cold snap in Perthshire.

So when two of the Lipscott sisters beg her to help the third, she can hardly refuse. Sweet, pretty Fleur Lipscott: where is she now? The astonishing answer to this is that Fleur – still Miss Lipscott, indeed more Miss Lipscott than ever – is buried alive in the tiny seaside village of Portpatrick, working as a schoolmistress at St Columba’s College for Young Ladies.

But she is one of the few remaining, for St Columba’s has been shedding mistresses as a snake its skins and the exodus is far from over.

With mistresses vanishing and corpses mounting up, can Mrs Gilver, detective, pass herself off as Miss Gilver, English mistress, to solve the one and stop the other?

Catriona McPherson’s latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 28th February 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781444731873