Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1920s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Alexander McCall Smith and Agatha Christie.


‘1920s lady detective Dandy Gilver lands a sleuthing gig in a setting straight out of Enid Blyton,. Cosier than a pair of WI-knitted mittens, Corpses serves up murder most foul – and is also good for several giggles.’ TIME OUT

Before she was a detective, before she was a reluctant wife and distracted mother, before she was even a debutante, Dandy Gilver spent one perfect summer with the Lipscotts of Pereford. The golden memories of it have sustained her through many a cold snap in Perthshire.

So when two of the Lipscott sisters beg her to help the third, she can hardly refuse. Sweet, pretty Fleur Lipscott: where is she now? The astonishing answer to this is that Fleur – still Miss Lipscott, indeed more Miss Lipscott than ever – is buried alive in the tiny seaside village of Portpatrick, working as a schoolmistress at St Columba’s College for Young Ladies.

But she is one of the few remaining, for St Columba’s has been shedding mistresses as a snake its skins and the exodus is far from over.

With mistresses vanishing and corpses mounting up, can Mrs Gilver, detective, pass herself off as Miss Gilver, English mistress, to solve the one and stop the other?

Catriona McPherson’s latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 5th July 2012

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781444731866

Reviews

A delightful heroine
<i>My Weekly</i>
This is a beguiling book whose 1920s setting, light tone, and beautifully developed main characters draw you ever deeper into the central puzzle, or perhaps puzzles, which take on an increasingly dark tone as the story progresses. The background is utterly convincing, and there is a considerable amount of pleasure in simply learning more about Scotland in the 1920s. Most important of all, however, is that this is a thoroughly enjoyable read whose whose twists and turns are genuinely intriguing. An absolutely outstanding murder mystery . . .
UndiscoveredScotland.co.uk
Brisk, baffled, heroic, kindly, scandalised and - above all- very funny.
<i>Guardian</i>
Dandy Gilver is:
.
'1930s lady detective Dandy Gilver lands a sleuthing gig in a setting straight out of Enid Blyton,. Cosier than a pair of WI-knitted mittens, 'Corpses' serves up murder most foul - and is also good for several giggles.'
<i>Time Out</i>
A winning heroine
<i>Independent</i>
The most engaging and ingenious crime-cracker I've met in ages.
<i>Scotland on Sunday</i>
Wonderful . . . a lesson to us all.
<i>Scotsman</i>