John Connolly - The Whisperers - Hodder & Stoughton

The Whisperers

A Charlie Parker Thriller: 9

By John Connolly
Read by Jeff Harding

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Biographical Notes

John Connolly was born in Dublin in 1968. His debut -EVERY DEAD THING - swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers, and all his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers. He is the first non-American writer to win the US Shamus award. `For Every Dead Thing`. In 2007 he was awarded the Irish Post Award for Literature.

twitter: John Connolly @jconnollybooks
Facebook

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444741773
  • Publication date: 10 Feb 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke

Framed. Imprisoned. Pregnant. It's her worst nightmare...Jenna Burns thought she had the perfect life: a loving fiancé, a great job, a beautiful home. Then she returns home one day to find her stepdaughter murdered; her partner missing.And the police think it was her...Jenna knows she's been framed. But how can she prove it from behind bars? And then she finds out she is pregnant. It's not only her life at stake. Surrounded by prisoners who'd hurt her if they knew what she's accused of; aware that someone outside hates her enough to kill; Jenna will do whatever it takes to clear her name, save her baby, and find out the truth. But can she do it in time?

Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Coronet

Red Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Age

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Mulholland Books

Boy in the Well

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay
Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict

An incredibly tense and twisty psychological thriller, for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.YOU PUT YOUR KEY IN THE LOCKJust back from a long weekend, all you want to do is collapse on the sofa...THE DOOR WON'T OPENThere's a bike on the porch that isn't yours...THE HOUSE SHOULD BE EMPTYBut someone else is here...THERE'S A STRANGER INSIDEAnd he knows something about you..."I WAS THERE. I SAW WHAT YOU DID."**************Praise for The Stranger Inside'Laura Benedict turns her unique voice in suspense to this elegant scary mystery, where nothing is as it seems and one woman's truth is shattered by the hidden secrets of her past.' J.T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author of Lie to Me'Compelling characters, lush settings, complex emotions-all in a clever plot and spiced with a hint of darkness . . . But a warning: once you pick it up, you will yield your life to the power of a great storyteller' Carolyn Haines, bestselling author of The House of Memory

Mulholland Books

Night

Bernard Minier
Authors:
Bernard Minier
Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Mulholland Books

Song of the Dead

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

Book 1 in the DI Westphall series'Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir' Publishers WeeklyA dead man walks into a police station. He tells a tale - bizarre as it is grotesque - of kidnap and organ harvesting. John Baden's story of being held prisoner for twelve years sounds far-fetched - but it's all about to get much, much stranger.DI Ben Westphall has been given the case because of his background in MI6. He also has a knack for getting inside people's heads and seeing things others would miss. Westphall is no ordinary detective and this is no ordinary case.When his suspects start dying, Westphall realises someone is killing to cover up the truth. But what exactly is the truth? To find out, he'll have to question everything he's been told, before there's no one left to ask.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Shell Game

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

The new V.I. Warshawski novel from the New York Times bestselling author pits acclaimed detective V.I. Warshawski against some of today's most powerful figures.Legendary sleuth V.I. Warshawski returns to the Windy City to save an old friend's nephew from a murder arrest. The case involves a stolen artifact that could implicate a shadowy network of international criminals. As V.I. investigates, the detective soon finds herself tangling with the Russian mob, ISIS backers, and a shady network of stock scams and stolen art that stretches from Chicago to the East Indies and the Middle East. In Shell Game, nothing and no one are what they seem, except for the detective herself, who loses sleep, money, and blood, but remains indomitable in her quest for justice.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald

A stunning debut crime novel for fans of Robert Harris, Philip Kerr and C.J. Sansom's Dominion.London, 1952. Dick Bourton is not like the other probationer policemen in Notting Hill. He's older, having fought in Europe and then Korea. And he's no Londoner, being from Cotswold farming stock. Then there's Anna, the exotically beautiful White Russian fiancée he has brought back to these drab streets and empty bombsites. She may as well come from a different planet. The new copper also has a mind of his own. After an older colleague is shot by a small-time gangster they are chasing in a pea-souper fog, something nags at Bourton's memory. He begins to make connections which his superiors don't want to see, linking a whole series of deaths and the fogs that stop the city in its tracks. Desperate to prove himself and his theories, Bourton fails to notice the fear which his mysterious bride is doing her best to conceal - and overcome.Soon both Anna and Bourton are taking dangerous paths into the worst fog London has ever known...**********"London had gone. As he stepped through the wicket, a dry smoky chill puffing over the lintel, everything that made the city - skyline, street signs, crowds, scarlet double-deckers - had disappeared, lost in the murk. I can't see the kerb, for God's sake, let alone Barker's across the road. He looked both ways, the chill crawling down his neck . . . Coshing gangs will love this. And our man. But we're on your trail, sunshine. He raised his hat to Marling, locking up behind. Tomorrow we nab you."

Mulholland Books

Make Them Sorry

Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken
Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Missed You

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
Hodder Paperbacks

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder Paperbacks

Danger Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

The first wife died suddenly. Without Miss Silver's help, the new bride may be about to meet a similar fate'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailMaud Silver, demure private eye, is on a train to London when a young woman in a state of shock bursts into her compartment. She is Lisle Jerningham, a newlywed with a fortune - which may be about to get her killed.Lisle explains that she fled her home in a hurry after overhearing a sinister conversation. Her new husband's first wife died in an apparent accident, and the resultant infusion of cash saved his family home. Now, he's broke again - and she fears he is attempting to engineer a second convenient mishap. Whether the widower is bent on a second murder or his young wife is being paranoid, no one is clear. But if Lisle is in danger, it is up to Miss Silver to find out.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph

Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Miss Silver must unravel a tangled web of marriage, mystery and murder'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailNo one has seen Allegra Trent since she got married. Her husband swept her off her feet and out of London, to a faraway town called Bleake. She has stopped writing letters, and her family has begun to worry. Allegra's husband is a strange man. He is consumed with his dream of owning the ramshackle estate curiously known as Ladies' Bane, and he intends to use his new wife's money to do it. Why he wants to live there no one knows, but Josepha Bowden does not want his castle to become her goddaughter's prison. She asks the help of Maud Silver, the former governess who now makes a living using her reason to unravel the intricacies of murder. There has been no killing in Bleake, but if Miss Silver doesn't intervene quickly, there could be one soon.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph

Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

When a blackmailer is stabbed at his own celebration, Miss Silver must find the guilty party'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailWhen the menacing Gregory Porlock invites a group of unacquainted friends into his home, no one is quite sure what to expect.But after the host himself is stabbed in the back it soon becomes clear to all that he was a blackmailer. Every person in his house has something to hide, and many have good reason for wishing Porlock ill. It is up to Miss Silver to see through the lies and determine which guest made certain the party was really over.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph

Hodder Paperbacks

Grey Mask

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

***Number One New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown returns with another suspenseful thriller*** Rye Mallett is a 'freight dog', a pilot who'll fly anywhere in the world, at any time, at a moment's notice, through the worst weather. As a fighter pilot in Afghanistan, he escaped death once. Figuring that it's only a matter of time before it catches up with him, he tempts it by taking risks. But one night he takes to the air, when no other pilot would, to deliver a black padlocked box. What awaits him at his destination is a near crash . . . and a run-in with Dr. Brynn O'Neal. Brynn, a dedicated physician, is under a forty-eight hour deadline to save a patient by means of the contents of the box Rye delivers. She's lovely to look at, but Rye doesn't trust her. He's volatile and a threat to Brynn's plan. But soon they're reluctantly teamed in a mad race against the clock, the law, and the ruthless individuals who will kill in order to get the precious payload for themselves. ********** Praise for Sandra Brown 'Suspense that has teeth' Stephen King 'Lust, jealousy, and murder suffuse Brown's crisp thriller' Publishers Weekly 'An edge-of-the-seat thriller that's full of twists . . . Top stuff!' Star