We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Whisperers

The Whisperers

Detective Charlie Parker returns in another chilling thriller – a must-read for fans of Michael Connelly and Jeffery Deaver.

The border between Maine and Canada is porous. Anything can be smuggled across it: drugs, cash, weapons, people.

Now a group of disenchanted former soldiers has begun its own smuggling operation, and what is being moved is infinitely stranger and more terrifying than anyone can imagine. Anyone, that is, except private detective Charlie Parker, who has his own intimate knowledge of the darkness in men’s hearts.

But the soldiers’ actions have attracted the attention of the reclusive Herod, a man with a taste for the strange. And where Herod goes, so too does the shadowy figure that he calls the Captain. To defeat them, Parker must form an uneasy alliance with a man he fears more than any other, the killer known as the Collector . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 10th June 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848942165

Reviews

This is one of Connolly's darker, scarier novels, all the more effective for the way the supernatural elements arise organically out of the realistic detail
<i>Guardian</i>
Connolly subtly combines the supernatural with the traditional crime story to superb effect. And in Herod, a man being eaten by cancer, he may have created his creepiest villain yet.
<i>Sun</i>
As ever with Connolly, the macabre narrative is couched in prose that is often allusive and poetic.
Barry Forshaw, <i>Independent</i>
Visionary brand of neo-noir . . . terrifically exciting, tightly plotted . . . written in an uncommonly fine, supple, sensuous prose.
<i>Irish Times</i>
Tremendous stuff, as Connolly's novels always are.
Mark Timlin, <i>Independent on Sunday</i>
His latest plot is a clever mixture of quest and chase, written in prose that unfolds at warp speed, and rarely fails to sing.
<I>The Observer<I>
Impossible to put down. His best yet . . . This is a novel to enjoy on every level because Connolly writes like an angel. His prose is so good, so precisely nuanced, in a few short sentences describing something really scary that will literally make the hairs on the back of your neck stand to attention.
<i>Independent</i>Dublin
A tour de force finale in a book which will sure be a bestseller this summer. It well deserves to be.
<i>Independent on Sunday</i>
Another creepy thriller from a modern master.
<i>Daily Mirror</i>
Brilliant, terrifying and effortlessly seductive, I defy anyone to put this thriller down - it is sensational.
<i>Daily Mail</i>