Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Telling Error

The Telling Error

Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s mysteries, as well as Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins, the ninth psychological thriller from Sophie Hannah is a literary mystery and a puzzle that’s impossible to solve . . .

‘Fiendishly clever’ Sunday Express
Exceptional’ Elle

Knowing the secret will kill you.

All she wanted to do was take her son’s forgotten sports kit to school.

So why does Nicki Clements drive past the home of controversial newspaper columnist Damon Blundy eight times in one day? Blundy has been murdered, and the words ‘HE IS NO LESS DEAD’ daubed on his wall – in red paint, not blood. And, though Blundy was killed with a knife, he was not stabbed. Why?

Nicki, called in for questioning, doesn’t have any of the answers police are looking for. Nor can she tell them the truth, because although she is not guilty of murder, she is far from innocent. And the words on the wall are disturbingly familiar to her, if only she could remember where she has heard them before . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 24th April 2014

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781444736755

Reviews

Hannah has revived the apparently exhausted detective genre by inventing a new style. You could call it every-day Gothic or ordinary extremism. But whatever label you stick on her books, they stay with you because you are likely to share or at least understand the motives of the killer.
Spectator
Each of Hannah's characters is incredibly psychologically developed, full of light and shade: a challenge to understand. If you want a tale to keep you on your toes, give your brain a jolt, and cause a series of heart attacks, THE TELLING ERROR is for you. Hannah proves once again that she deserves the accolade of Queen of Crime.
Stylist
There is an admirable, complicated cleverness about [Hannah's] stories . . . Think Agatha Christie at her best but updated to a time of Twitter and online dating.
Independent on Sunday
The queen of the ingenious plot twist
Good Housekeeping
Difficult to put down. Hannah is terrific on complex, tangled, forbidden or impossible relationships that result in murder.
The Times
The queen of psychological crime . . . Fiendishly clever . . . Hannah is masterly at leading the reader down the wrong path and here she excels once again.
Sunday Express
The genius of Hannah's domestic thrillers - along with the twistiest plots known to woman - is that she creates ordinary people whose psychological quirks make them as monstrous as any serial killer.
Guardian
An exceptional storyteller - this is exactly the sort of crime read that can lead to missed tube stops and sleepless nights.
Elle
Riveting . . Her best twists and solution yet
Heat