Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Little Face

Little Face

One of the Sunday Times 100 Best Crime Novels and Thrillers Since 1945

The first extraordinary psychological suspense thriller from internationally bestselling author Sophie Hannah. Not to be missed for readers of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.

‘Terrifying’ Scotsman
‘Ingenious’ Sunday Times

It’s every mother’s nightmare . . .

She’s only been gone two hours.

Her husband David was meant to be looking after their two-week-old daughter. But when Alice Fancourt walks into the nursery, her terrifying ordeal begins, for Alice insists the baby in the cot is a stranger she’s never seen before.

With an increasingly hostile and menacing David swearing she must either be mad or lying, how can Alice make the police believe her before it’s too late?
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 19th February 2009

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781848942509

Reviews

Hannah adapts to crime fiction with arresting aplomb: her characters are vivid, the novel's challenging double narrative is handled with flair, and its denouement is ingenious
The Sunday Times
Quite brilliant - I was extremely impressed
The Times
Women in peril flit through the pages of traditional Gothic fiction, murmuring 'Had I but known!' as they fall for the wrong man, open the wrong door or apply for the wrong job. Sophie Hannah takes the trusty formula in both hands, gives it a vigorous shake and uses it to produce something fascinating and original in her novel. Beautifully written the novel is outstandingly chilling - terror lurks in the half understood and in anticipation. Little Face is a hugely promising debut. Sophie Hannah is an author to watch
Andrew Taylor, Spectator
This may well turn out to be the detective novel of the year . . . A terrifying mystery of manipulation, counter-manipulation and, finally, astounding revelation - it's a haunting story told with bewitching skill.
Scotsman
A gripping psychological thriller
Independent on Sunday
A suspensful and psychological thriller, the plot twists and turns right up until the very last
Heat
Sophie Hannah is an award-winning poet and short story writer, and for this, her first novel, she has come up with a chilling thriller . . . I was left thinking about the book for days
Guardian
Intriguing. Hannah's depiction of relationships tested to the limit by domestic tragedy is impressive
Simon Shaw, Mail on Sunday
The author is a poet by trade and she brings a wealth of psychological and literary subtlety to bear in this impressive novel. Smart and disarmingly unnerving
Daily Mail
Hannah's whodunit milks a classic formula with subversive results. This missing-baby tale chimes with very modern anxieties. Custody issues lie at the heart of the resolution, and the increasingly perverse relationship between Alice and David is grounded in recognisable reality that serves only to make our flesh crawl more
Emma Hagestadt, Independent
Chilling and completely gripping - I stayed up half the night to finish it.
Marie Claire