Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Places remember us. . .

A missionary begs to be moved from disease-ridden Bangkok.
A musician plays a private show for ghosts.
A student abandoned by his lover bleeds to death in the street.
A plastic surgeon designs a girl a new face.
A woman decides whether to cook a final meal for a dying murderer.

Lurching through decades, from Bangkok’s rich past to its imagined, uploaded future, witness the city as it changes from a booming capitalist hub to a city engulfed by water, through human tales seeping into one another, held together by delicate threads.

For fans of A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD and CLOUD ATLAS, this is a startling and intimate novel by a lyrical new writer.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 8th August 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473677241

Reviews

Pitchaya Sudbanthad's beautiful, ambitious first novel Bangkok Wakes To Rain moves with an elegant restlessness that seems to match the city's own. Reading this book feels like waking to a singular and important new voice
Rajesh Parameswaran, author of I Am An Executioner
An important, ambitious, and accomplished novel
Mohsin Hamid
Beautifully textured and rich with a sense of place, this is a big, ambitious book. I love the way Sudbanthad so compellingly captures not only the long arcs of these lives-but also the smallest moments, and how those moments linger in memory, how they haunt.
Karen Thompson Walker, author of The Age of Miracles
Beautifully textured and rich with a sense of place
Karen Walker Thompson
There's a simple, ingenious conceit to this book - the stories a house can contain, from Bangkok's colonial past to its antediluvian future. This is a bold and tender novel about the unforgivable and the unforgiven, and how to live past what you thought you could survive. Sudbanthad arrives to us already a masterful innovator of the form-a startlingly original debut.
Alexander Chee, author of The Queen of the Night