We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

An intoxicating collage of lives intersecting around a building in Bangkok.

Places remember us. . .

A missionary begs to be moved from disease-ridden Bangkok.
A musician plays a private show for ghosts.
A student abandoned by his lover bleeds to death in the street.
A plastic surgeon designs a girl a new face.
A woman decides whether to cook a final meal for a dying murderer.

Lurching through decades, from Bangkok’s rich past to its imagined, uploaded future, witness the city as it changes from a booming capitalist hub to a city engulfed by water, through human tales seeping into one another, held together by delicate threads.

For fans of A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD and CLOUD ATLAS, this is a startling and intimate novel by a lyrical new writer.

(P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 21st February 2019

Price: £21.99

ISBN-13: 9781473682733

Reviews

An important, ambitious, and accomplished novel
Mohsin Hamid
Beautifully textured and rich with a sense of place
Karen Walker Thompson