We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781473682733

Price: £21.99

ON SALE: 21st February 2019

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

An intoxicating collage of lives intersecting around a building in Bangkok.

Places remember us. . .

A missionary begs to be moved from disease-ridden Bangkok.
A musician plays a private show for ghosts.
A student abandoned by his lover bleeds to death in the street.
A plastic surgeon designs a girl a new face.
A woman decides whether to cook a final meal for a dying murderer.

Lurching through decades, from Bangkok’s rich past to its imagined, uploaded future, witness the city as it changes from a booming capitalist hub to a city engulfed by water, through human tales seeping into one another, held together by delicate threads.

For fans of A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD and CLOUD ATLAS, this is a startling and intimate novel by a lyrical new writer.

(P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Reviews

An important, ambitious, and accomplished novel
Mohsin Hamid
Beautifully textured and rich with a sense of place
Karen Walker Thompson