Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Evvie Drake Starts Over

Evvie Drake Starts Over

When you get a second chance, will you be brave enough to take it?

You don’t always get to start your life over. Sometimes, life starts itself over for you.

One morning, Eveleth ‘Evvie’ Drake got up, packed her suitcase, and got ready to leave her life – and her perfect husband – behind. But before she walked out of the door, she received a phone call asking her to come to the hospital.

That day, Evvie’s new life as a widow began.

Now wrestling with her guilt and grief, Evvie has found her independence, but not the way she planned. Unable to leave the house she once dreamed of escaping, it’s clear to her best friend Andy that Evvie needs a change. And Andy might just have the answer. . .

Dean Tenney was a big-shot baseball star, until a bad case of the ‘yips’ meant he couldn’t play anymore – or understand why. An invitation from his childhood friend Andy to stay in Maine for a few months seems like the perfect chance to hit the reset button.

When Dean moves into the apartment at the back of Evvie’s house, the two make a deal: Dean won’t ask about Evvie’s late husband, and Evvie won’t ask about Dean’s baseball career. But rules have a funny way of being broken sometimes, and as a friendship evolves into something more, will Evvie and Dean be brave enough to let go of the past and start over again?

‘Charming, hopeful, and gently romantic . . . Evvie Drake is great company.’ Rainbow Rowell

(c)2019 Penguin Random House Audio
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 27th June 2019

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781473686847

Reviews

A witty blend of romance and reflection . . . wraps you in the cozy warmth of small-town Maine and delves into the complexities of the human heart
Helen Hoag, author of THE KISS QUOTIENT
Evvie Drake Starts Over is a warm, witty, and wonderful romance about the art of creating second chances-or a whole second act. Linda Holmes's moving, smartly written debut is so engaging, you'll be tempted to wish Evvie could start over yet again, just for a sequel
Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, bestselling authors of THE ROYAL WIFE
Evvie Drake Starts Over is what happens when great writing, complex and charming characters, and a not-quite-what-you-expect ending collide, making this lovely novel much more than just another romantic comedy. Deeply moving while simultaneously hilarious, you will want to share it with your best friend, but keep your own copy so you can read it again and again
Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of DREAMS OF FALLING
Holmes writes with an easy warmth about kind people who are trying their best but messing things up anyway. . . . A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller
Kirkus
Charming, hopeful and gently romantic. Evvie Drake is great company
Rainbow Rowell
A sweet and sincere grown-up love story. Fans of grounded romance will fall hard for Evvie Drake and Dean Tenney, two broken people who help each other mend. Refreshing and real, with a huge heart. I loved it
Georgia Clark, author of THE REGULARS and THE BUCKET LIST
A quirky, sweet, and splendid story of a woman coming into her own . . . an absolute delight
Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of DAISY JONES AND THE SIX
I was utterly charmed by Evvie Drake Starts Over - a book that shows us that just because you're broken doesn't mean you can't be put back together again. You'll want to stay cozied up with these delightful, unique, and incredibly human characters long after you turn the last page
Doree Shafrir, author of STARTUP: A NOVEL and co-host of Forever35 Podcast