Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Wrath of Angels

The Wrath of Angels

A gripping Charlie Parker thriller perfect for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly.

‘Haunting, scary and addictive’ – Independent on Sunday

In the depths of the Maine woods, the wreckage of an aeroplane is discovered. There are no bodies. No such plane has ever been reported missing, but men both good and evil have been seeking it for a long, long time. Hidden in the plane is a list of names, a record of those who have struck a deal with the Devil. Now a battle is about to commence between those who want the list to remain secret and those who believe that it represents a crucial weapon in the struggle against the forces of darkness.

The race to secure the prize draws in private detective Charlie Parker, a man who knows more than most about the nature of the terrible evil that seeks to impose itself on the world, and who fears that his own name may be on the list. It lures others too. But as the rival forces descend upon this northern state, the woods prepare to meet them, for the forest depths hide other secrets.

Someone has survived the crash. Some thing has survived the crash.
And it is waiting . . .

(P)2012 Hodder & Stoughton
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 30th August 2012

Price: £20

ISBN-13: 9781444761870

Reviews

Praise for THE BURNING SOUL: 'He's compared with Stephen King because his tales have a touch of the supernatural - but crime writer John Connolly is a star in his own right. The Irishman has more than proved himself and the new Charlie Parker novel The Burning Soul is another cracking read.'
<i>Sun</i>
Connolly ties the plot strands together with consummate skill . . . a gripping whodunnit . . . genuinely chilling . . . Connolly delivers what his readers have come to expect: a few belly laughs, some shivers down the spine and a compelling mystery . . . few writers can compete with him.
<i>The Sunday Times</i>
Vintage JC.
<i>Express</i>
In THE BURNING SOUL, John Connolly has delivered a cracking good tale that seamlessly blends suspense, mystery and just the lightest touch of his signature supernatural ambience. As always, Connolly writes beautifully. He brings the backwoods of Maine alive, and the main and secondary characters are all acutely observed
<i>Irish Independent</i>
Ingenious, seriously scary and plausible . . . Excellent
<i>Sun</i>
Haunting, scary and addictive . . . the finest crime series currently in existence.
<i>Indepent on Sunday</i>
With Connolly, good and evil are always too close for comfort.
<i>Daily Mirror</i>
You may think at times you are reading a literary novel but then Connolly will remind you he's just as adept at the violent strategies of the thriller. Either way you will be left shaken by the experience.
<i>Daily Express</i>