Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Killing Kind

The Killing Kind

Charlie Parker returns with a thrilling case – perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Jeffery Deaver.

Did Grace Peltier commit suicide? When a mass grave in northern Maine reveals the final resting place of a religious community that disappeared almost forty years earlier, private detective Charlie Parker, hired to investigate the circumstances of her death, realises that their deaths and the violent passing of Grace Peltier are part of the same mystery, one that has its roots in her family history and in the origins of the shadowy organisation known as the Fellowship. Aided by the genial killers Angel and Louis, Parker must descend into the depths of a honeycomb world populated by dark angels and lost souls, a world where the ghosts of the dead wait for justice and the unwary are prey for the worst kind of creatures.

The killing kind. . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 18th February 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848940338

Reviews

Connolly does the chill factor brilliantly, creating horror out of the sort of misguided religious fervour not seen since Waco. Mass graves, Parker's sixth sense and deadly spiders set the mind and pulse racing.
Daily Mirror
Connolly's achievement is a literary thriller, charged with menace from beginning to end, taut as it is terrifying.
<i>Live Wire</i>
'As the body count increases, Connolly introduces a chilling new villain and an age-old legend. Together they'll keep you on the edge of your seat. Don't read it alone!
<i>Books</i>
The unrivalled master of Maine noir. Menace has never been so seductive.
<i>Guardian</i>
Connolly has become the leading commentator on Maine's morbidity
<i>Times Play</i>
Arachnophobes should give this novel a wide berth
<i>Evening Standard</i>
What makes Parker intriguing is precisely that, though a crusader against evil, he has a dark side: he is haunted by the past, his capacity for violence and guilt.
<i>Telegraph Magazine</i>
Connolly's characters have substance beyond vehicles for horror, and this is what puts him ahead in a crowded genre race
<i>What's On</i> (Amazon Books)
John Connolly knows how to get you to check the lock on your door before you put the lights out and again before you get into bed.
<i>rí-ra</i>
Fast-paced, violent thriller writing done with consummate skill.
Private Eye
Connolly's reflections on evil, the past, and reparation are lyrical and affecting, and his grim fundamentalists send off frissons.
<i>Kirkus Reviews</i>
Elias Pudd makes Hannibal Lecter seem like Little Lord Fauntleroy. Gripping, intricately plotted, this is no ordinary thriller. . . Also becoming more apparent are the depths of this author's psychological acumen, literary skills and prodigious creativity.
<i>Publishers Weekly</i>
As John Connolly plunges ever deeper into the underworld of the damned, the reader, with eyes of slits, must cling on for this brilliantly terrifying ride.
<i>Irish Times</i>