Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Lovers

The Lovers

A chilling thriller featuring Detective Charlie Parker from bestselling author John Connolly. Not to be missed for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly.

When Charlie Parker was still a boy, his father, a NYPD cop, killed a young couple, a boy and a girl barely older than his son, then took his own life. There was no explanation for his actions.

Stripped of his private investigator’s license, and watched by the police, Parker is working in a Portland bar, holding down a job and staying out of trouble. But in the background, he is working on his most personal case yet, an investigation into his own origins and the circumstances surrounding the death of his father, Will.

It is an investigation that will reveal a life haunted by lies, by his mother’s loss and his father’s betrayal, by secrets kept and loyalties compromised.

And by two figures in the shadows, a man and a woman, with only one purpose: to bring an end to Charlie Parker’s existence . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 7th September 2009

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848943957

Reviews

A strange, compelling mixture of genuinely scary gothic horror, humour and hard-nosed crime, The Lovers is among his best. Best read by torchlight in a broken-down car, right at the end of a forest track. During a storm.
<i>Herald</i>
His latest plot is a clever mixture of quest and chase, written in prose that unfolds at warp speed, and rarely fails to sing.
<i>Observer</i>
You may think at times you are reading a literary novel but then Connolly will remind you he's just as adept at the violent strategies of the thriller. Either way you will be left shaken by the experience.
<i>Daily Express</i>
'Superbly written . . . another excellent entry in the Charlie Parker series and can be easily read as a stand-alone' 4 stars
RTE Guide
An intriguing blend of fast-paced crime fiction and fantasy.
<i>Independent</i>
As ever with Connolly, the macabre narrative is couched in prose that is often allusive and poetic.
Barry Forshaw, <i>Independent</i>
Tremendous stuff, as Connolly's novels always are.
Mark Timlin, <i>Independent on Sunday</i>
A tightly plotted, beautifully constructed novel where John Connolly exhibits his considerable skills.
<i>crimesquad</i>
More restrained and reflective . . . but no less powerful
Marcel Berlins, <i>Sunday Times</i>
Visionary brand of neo-noir . . . terrifically exciting, tightly plotted . . . written in an uncommonly fine, supple, sensuous prose.
<i>Irish Times</i>