Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Black Angel

The Black Angel

Detective Charlie Parker returns with a complex new case – not to be missed for fans of Michael Connelly and Jeffery Deaver.

The Black Angel is not an object. The Black Angel is not a myth. The Black Angel lives.

A young woman goes missing from the streets of New York. Those who have taken her believe that nobody cares about her, and that no one will come looking for her. They are wrong. She is ‘blood’ to the killer Louis, the man who stands at the right hand of private detective Charlie Parker, and Louis will tear apart anyone who stands in the way of his attempts to find her.

But as Louis’s violent search progresses, Parker comes to realize that the disappearance is part of an older mystery, one that is linked to an ornate church of bones in Eastern Europe, to the slaughter at a French monastery in 1944, and to the quest for a mythical prize that has been sought for centuries by evil men: the Black Angel.

Yet the Black Angel is more than a myth. It is conscious. It dreams. It is alive.

And men are not the only creatures that seek it . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th November 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848940345

Reviews

Dark and powerful yet beautifully written
<i>Big Issue</i>
'This is not just a powerful thriller, it's also a titanic battle between the forces of good and evil, with religion and the supernatural stirred into the brew. . . his most operatically large scale book yet.'
<i>Crime Time</i>
Satisfying and literate thrill ride
<i>Evening Herald</i> (Dublin)
Stylishly literate gore and terror
<i>Kirkus Reviews </i>
Connolly has virtually no match when it comes to chilling his readers.
<i>Daily Express</i>
One to keep you up at night
<i>Tangled Web</i>
Colourful but visceral grand guignol, and definitely not to be read at night.
<i>Guardian</i>
Private detective Charlie Parker chases strung out prostitutes and ossuary-building killers in a page-turner that harks back to the fall of the rebel angels.. The action stays both speedy and gruesome
<i>Time Out</i>
A Gothic horror story and a well-paced thriller. John Connolly writes beautifully ... and his violent set pieces are satisfyingly exciting and vibrantly realised.
Myles McWeeney, <i>Irish Independent</i>
There is a precision to the horrors that make them one of the few sequences to have found anything interesting to say about serial killers since Thomas Harris.
<i>Independent</i>
John Connolly has taken his serial hero and changed him from an ex-cop turned private eye to a supernatural detective whose own ancestry is as murky as it is fascinating. It's another bestseller of course.
Mark Timlin, <i>Independent on Sunday</i>
'If all the Old Testament mumbo-jumbo recalls The Da Vinci Code, The Black Angel is still five times as suspenseful and at least ten times as compelling.'
Kevin Sweeney, <i>Irish Times</i>
Great narrative talent packed with vivid scenes and sequences. An impressive feat of storytelling
<i>Irish Times Weekend Review</i>
The master of supernatural sleuthery.
<i>The Times</i>