Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dead Pretty

Dead Pretty

The fifth novel in the DS McAvoy series by bestselling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.

Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days.

One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won’t let either of them go until justice can be done.

But some people have their own ideas of what justice means…

DEAD PRETTY is the stunning new novel from one of Britain’s most original crime writers.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 11th August 2016

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781444798111

Reviews

In terms of food analogies, some books are bland or subtly flavoured, while others are like a fiery curry. David Mark's DS McAvoy books are unarguably in the latter category
Independent
The McAvoy series pulls off the double whammy of cracking characters and cunning plots. The big detective Aector McAvoy is so real and so loveable you want to have a pint with him, and the legendary Trish Pharaoh proves that a man can create an utterly compelling female character
Anya Lipska
Gripping story lines steeped in emotion and menace, with a larger than life character whom I love to reacquaint myself with. Always right on the Mark for me.
Mel Sherratt
More twists and turns than a corkscrew through the eyeball
Val McDermid
Breathtaking. Mark writes bad beautifully
Peter May
The exceptional McAvoy series just got better. DEAD PRETTY is a gripping thriller...proof that David Mark is up there with the best
Mari Hannah, author of the Kate Daniels series
A police procedural with a big heart, a sharp eye, a swagger in its step and grit under its fingernails. Anyone who isn't reading David Mark's books already: start now.
Helen Giltrow, author of <i>The Distance</i>
Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer and an exciting young talent.
Peter James
Darkly absorbing and told with real swagger, DEAD PRETTY is a heartfelt and sweeping thrill ride of a novel from one of crime fiction's most distinctive voices. DS Aector McAvoy might be a big guy but David Mark is undoubtedly set for very big things.
Chris Ewan, author of <i>Safe House</i>
There is a good array of villains, and Mark is impressive in his sensitive portrayals of the relationships between the principal characters at work and home.
The Times
Mark's rich, distinctive prose style and damaged characters compel you to keep reading... shaping up to be an essential crime series
Crime Scene Magazine
Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order
Geoffrey Wansell, Daily Mail
Highly entertaining
The Sunday Times
David Mark takes you to the darkest edges of Hull and Back, but be prepared for a late night, as Dead Pretty will make you see dawn
Martina Cole
Compelling and harrowing
Daily Express
Wry insights into the human condition and lyrical descriptions of the East Yorkshire landscape
Irish Independent