Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dandy Gilver and an Unsuitable Day for a Murder

Dandy Gilver and an Unsuitable Day for a Murder

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1920s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Alexander McCall Smith and Agatha Christie.

‘Dan Brown meets Barbara Pym . . . Dandy is brisk, baffled, heroic, kindly, scandalised and – above all – very funny.Guardian

‘One of several authors recreating the Golden Age of the British crime novel and a legion of fans adore the tongue-in-cheek cases that come the way of Dandy Gilver, a very Scottish middle class sleuth.’ Northamptonshire Evening Telegraph

Friday 3rd June, 1927

Dear Alec,

‘Careful what you wish for, lest it come true’ is my new motto, and here is why. I was summoned to Dunfermline, that old grey town, in the matter of a missing heiress.

She had flounced off in a sulk over forbidden love and I, suspecting elopement, was loath to take the job of scouring guesthouses to find the little madam and her paramour.

Before I could wriggle out of it, though, there was a murder in the mix – or was it suicide? I had hardly begun to decide when it happened again. Then I was sacked. Actually sacked! By two separate people, and both dismissals in writing. And that’s not even the worst of it, darling: matters here are careering downwards much in the style of a runaway train.

Please hurry – or who knows where it might end,

Dandy xx

Catriona McPherson’s latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery / Historical Mysteries

On Sale: 9th December 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848942066

Reviews

Guaranteed to appeal to those who have never got over the death of Dorothy L Sayers . . . McPherson has an ear for mellifluous language ... The story bristles with clues, and the resolution.. is unguessable.
<i>Financial Times</i> on DANDY GILVER AND THE PROPER TREATMENT OF BLOODSTAINS
A subtle detonation of the cosy genre... an acute sense of period, sharp observation of the mores of the day (both above and below stairs), a nicely-judged infusion of humour and a winning heroine.
<i>Independent</i> on DANDY GILVER AND THE PROPER TREATMENT OF BLOODSTAINS
Dan Brown meets Barbara Pym . . . Dandy is brisk, baffled, heroic, kindly, scandalised and - above all - very funny
<i>Guardian</i>
The period features are done with aplomb, the dialogue shines with Golden Age wit, and McPherson's heroine is warm and sharp as well as ingenious at solving the mysteries she is presented with.
<i>Scotland on Sunday</i> on DANDY GILVER AND AN UNSUITABLE DAY FOR A MURDER