Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

‘A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds, Dandy Gilver must also contend with a ribald staging of Shakespeare’s Macbeth. I loved the sense of fun, the wonderful use of language . . . satisfying on many levels.’ Vaseem Khan, author of the Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

Scotland, 1934.
Aristocratic private detective Dandy Gilver arrives at Castle Bewer, at midsummer, to solve the tangled mystery of a missing man, a lost ruby and a family curse.

The Bewer family’s latest wheeze to keep the wolf from the door is turning the castle keep into a theatre. While a motley band of players rehearse Macbeth, the Bewers themselves prepare lectures, their faithful servants set up a tearoom, and the guest wings fill with rich American ladies seeking.

Meanwhile, Dandy and her sidekick Alec Osborne begin to unravel the many secrets of the Bewers and find that, despite the witches, murders and ghosts onstage, it’s behind the scenes where the darkest deeds are done.

‘The perfect read for those who enjoy the bygoneworld charm of Nancy Mitford, Evelyn Waugh and Agatha Christie.’ The Lady on Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit

‘Catriona McPherson is a writer as talented as she is versatile. Dandy Gilver tackles a Golden Age era puzzle with her usual aplomb when the Scottish play offers a Shakespearean twist to a mystery with plenty of classic ingredients.’ Martin Edwards

‘Dandy Gilver is a fabulous character. a cross between Nancy Drew and the Australian crime cracker Miss Fisher. She is both relentless and brilliant.’ Amazon Reviewer
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th July 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473633452

Reviews

Catriona McPherson is a writer as talented as she is versatile. Dandy Gilver tackles a Golden Age era puzzle with her usual aplomb when the Scottish play offers a Shakespearean twist to a mystery with plenty of classic ingredients.
Martin Edwards
'The perfect read for those who enjoy the bygoneworld charm of Nancy Mitford, Evelyn Waugh and Agatha Christie.'
The Lady on Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit
A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds, Dandy Gilver must also contend with a ribald staging of Shakespeare's Macbeth. I loved the sense of fun, the wonderful use of language . . . satisfying on many levels.
Vaseem Khan, author of the Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra
Superb! Dandy Gilver deserves a damehood for increasing the gaiety of the nation.
Frances Brody, author of the Kate Shackleton Mysteries