We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Dandy Gilver and a Deadly Measure of Brimstone

Dandy Gilver and a Deadly Measure of Brimstone

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1920s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

Perthshire 1929 and the menfolk of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. Dandy the devoted wife and mother decides it is time to decamp; Dandy the intrepid detective, however, decides to decamp to the scene of a murder she would dearly love to solve.

The family repairs to the Borders town of Moffat, there to drink the sulphurous waters straight from the well and to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel.
But all is not well at the Hydro. The Laidlaw family is at war, the guests are an uneasy mix of old faithfuls and giddy upstarts, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But the Hydro was built in the lee of a Gallow Hill, and in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living…

Catriona McPherson’s latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery / Historical Mysteries

On Sale: 4th July 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781444731897

Reviews

This is a beguiling book whose 1920s setting, light tone, and beautifully developed main characters draw you ever deeper into the central puzzle, or perhaps puzzles, which take on an increasingly dark tone as the story progresses. The background is utterly convincing, and there is a considerable amount of pleasure in simply learning more about Scotland in the 1920s. Most important of all, however, is that this is a thoroughly enjoyable read whose whose twists and turns are genuinely intriguing. An absolutely outstanding murder mystery...
UndiscoveredScotland.co.uk on DANDY GILVER AND A BOTHERSOME NUMBER OF CORPSES
1930s lady detective Dandy Gilver lands a sleuthing gig in a setting straight out of Enid Blyton. Cosier than a pair of WI-knitted mittens, 'Corpses' serves up murder most foul - and is also good for several giggles.
<i>Time Out</i> on DANDY GILVER AND A BOTHERSOME NUMBER OF CORPSES
Dandy Gilver is:
-
Brisk, baffled, heroic, kindly, scandalised and - above all- very funny.
<i>Guardian</i>
A winning heroine
<i>Independent</i>
The most engaging and ingenious crime-cracker I've met in ages.
<i>Scotland on Sunday</i>
Wonderful . . . a lesson to us all.
<i>Scotsman</i>
A delightful heroine
<i>My Weekly</i>