Pitchaya Sudbanthad - Bangkok Wakes to Rain - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473677265
    • Publication date:21 Feb 2019
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473677241
    • Publication date:08 Aug 2019

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

By Pitchaya Sudbanthad

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

An intoxicating collage of lives intersecting around a building in Bangkok.

Places remember us. . .

A missionary begs to be moved from disease-ridden Bangkok.
A musician plays a private show for ghosts.
A student abandoned by his lover bleeds to death in the street.
A plastic surgeon designs a girl a new face.
A woman decides whether to cook a final meal for a dying murderer.

Lurching through decades, from Bangkok's rich past to its imagined, uploaded future, witness the city as it changes from a booming capitalist hub to a city engulfed by water, through human tales seeping into one another, held together by delicate threads.

For fans of A VISIT FROM THE GOOD SQUAD and CLOUD ATLAS, this is a startling and intimate novel by a lyrical new writer.

Biographical Notes

Pitchaya Sudbanthad's debut novel BANGKOK WAKES TO RAIN is forthcoming from Riverhead Books (US) and Sceptre (UK).
He has received fellowships in fiction writing from the New York Foundation for the Arts and the MacDowell Colony, and currently splits time between Bangkok and Brooklyn.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473677258
  • Publication date: 21 Feb 2019
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Sceptre