Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Black River

Black River

This unputdownable Amazonian adventure is perfect for fans of The Lost City of Z. ‘The thinking person’s Dan Brown’ Tom Harper has taken you to the underworld. He’s taken you to the Arctic. Now he’s taking you to the deadliest jungle on earth.

When Kel MacDonald joins an expedition looking for a legendary lost city in the Peruvian Amazon, he’s expecting the adventure of a lifetime. But things are not what they seem. Paramilitaries, drug cartels, and wildcat prospectors all want what the jungle has to offer – while untamed local tribes will fight desperately to protect their way of life. Maps of the region have been doctored. And what exactly happened to the previous expedition, a government vaccination program that went upriver and never returned?

Soon finding the lost city is the least of their troubles. The jungle hides deadly secrets that must be hidden at all costs. And someone in the group wants to make sure they never get out.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure

On Sale: 10th September 2015

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781444731484

Reviews

'Tom Harper has been writing elaborate thrillers that marry ironclad narrative skills with some of the most elegantly understated writing in the field; he's the thinking person's Dan Brown. Actually, Harper deserves the latter's success -- and more, as Harper is comfortably the better writer.'
Barry Forshaw, author of <i>The Rough Guide to Crime Writing</i>.
A flat-out fantastical adventure all the way in a vividly described and wildly exotic setting.
Irish Independent
'Harper effortlessly draws the reader into an unfamiliar time, bringing alive the characters and their motivations'
<i>Publishers Weekly</i>
Crafted with care and intelligence
Guardian