We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Winter in Tabriz

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781473663343

Price: £19.99

The beguiling second novel from the author of Walking Wounded for fans of Anna Funder and William Boyd.

Gripping and atmospheric, Winter in Tabriz tells the story of four young people living in 1970s Iran during the months immediately prior to the revolution, and the choices they have to make as a result of the ensuing upheaval. The lives of Damian and Anna, both from Oxford University, become enmeshed with two Iranians, Arash, a poet, and his older brother Reza, a student sympathetic to the problems of the dissident writers in Iran, and a would-be photojournalist, interested in capturing the rebellion on the streets.

It is an expertly imagined tale of the fight for artistic freedom, young love and the legacies of conflict.

(P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Reviews

A haunting, atmospheric novel about four students who find themselves unexpected witnesses to history in the strange last days of the Shah's Iran.
Samira Ahmed
A wonderfully accomplished novel that powerfully depicts a forbidden love in a fragmenting world trapped between dictatorship and fundamentalism, and where poetry is seen as more dangerous than guns.
David Park, author of <i>Travelling in a Strange Land</i>
An exploration of memory and loss.
Bookmunch
An honest and painstaking writer who cares deeply about the truth of her subject-matter.
Ciaran Carson
I loved this immensely evocative novel which takes the reader on a gripping journey through Iran - as well as a deeply moving and absorbing emotional journey, which acutely shows how the political and personal are inextricably interwoven. Highly recommended.
Anita Sethi
Llewellyn vividly captures the lives and passions of four young people irrevocably transformed by revolution, and of a moment in recent history that tilted us towards the political frailties of the present day. Skilfully woven through the story is a tender testament to the Iranian writers and thinkers who bore witness and sought justice.
Cathy Galvin
Subtle, serious fiction
<i>TLS</i>
Takes on huge, political and personal themes and carries them off superbly.
<i>Irish Independent</i>
A gripping, nostalgic story of the struggle for art, love and freedom . . . captures the complexities and tensions of attempting to choose one's own path, and the vulnerability implicit in investing in love and friendship
Irish Times