We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

At the Mile End Gate

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781473659506

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 4th May 2017

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

Select a format:

Paperback
‘She brings the East End to life’ Barbara Windsor

The Second World War is over and the troops are coming home – but so much has changed . . .

The war is over and the soldiers are coming back to the bomb-ravaged East End. Tom Smith is one of the thousands who are returning home. It’s been an eventful war, what with a spell of desertion, and Tom can’t wait to see his wife Jessie, their son Billy and the new baby daughter he hasn’t even laid eyes on.

But life back home wasn’t easy either, especially when Jessie’s army pension was stopped. So when she was told to put Emma-Rose into a home for her own good, she thought it was best. But how will Tom take the news? There is worse to come, when Tom learns that Jessie’s old boyfriend has been helping her during the war.

A compelling family saga set in the aftermath of the Second World War, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Kitty Neale.

Reviews

Sizzles with passion
Guardian on WILD HOPS
A rich, vivid, three-dimensional, gutsy and sexy narrative which has you turning the pages into the early hours
Eastern Daily Press on WILD HOPS
Unbridled passions run riot
Daily Mail
She brings the East End to life
Barbara Windsor