Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Insurrection

Insurrection

1286 A.D. Scotland is in the grip of the worst winter in living memory. Some say the Day of Judgement has arrived.

The King of Scotland rides out from Edinburgh into the stormy night. On the road he is murdered by one of his own men, leaving the succession to the throne wide open. Civil war threatens as the powerful Scottish families jostle for power, not knowing that King Edward I of England has set his own plans for conquest in motion.

But all is not destined to go Edward’s way. Through the ashes of war, through blood feuds and divided loyalties, a young squire will rise to defy England’s greatest king. His name is Robert Bruce.

Insurrection is the first in an addictive and action-packed trilogy in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.

(P)2010 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 14th October 2010

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781444713282

Reviews

Immaculately researched and carefully written, evoking a very particular - and largely unexplored - time and place. The fights are sensational.
<i>Daily Telegraph</i>
Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters
<i>Daily Mail</i>
It is so graphic you can immediately put yourself there, imagining the faces and the clash of weapons. It also elaborates on the historical context and fleshes out the characters. It draws you in and is a compelling novel you cannot put down. So much research must have gone into the book; the detail is incredible. I enjoyed it so much.
The BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club
Richly worked and captivating . . . an epic story of war, intrigue and heroism
<i>Good Book Guide</i> on BRETHREN
The fast and furious start to a majestic new trilogy
<i>Women and Home</i>
'leads you in swiftly and doesn't let you go'
<i>Australian Women's Weekly</i>
'this tale captures the struggles of a tumultuous time'
Australian <i>Daily Telegraph</i>
another fine novel by Young and a promising start to an exciting new series
<i>Canberra Times</i>
This is a big book, and the trilogy a huge project to undertake. From the evidence so far, Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters
<i>Daily Mail</i>
'Ideal for anyone who loves historical fiction and anyone else who wants a well written and intricate read'
<i>Sentinel</i> (Staffordshire)
'A cracking plot and charismatic characters are set against the convincingly researched background of the violent, gory Anglo-Scottish civil wars'
<i>Saga</i>
Young writes with remarkable accuracy, action-packed efficiency and gut-wrenching violence
<i>The Times</i> on REQUIEM
An outstanding contemporary writer
Kate Mosse on Robyn Young
A sweeping historical adventure as well as a cracking sequel
<i>Financial Times</i> on CRUSADE
One of the best historical debuts in recent memory. Exciting and enthralling.
John Connolly on BRETHREN
Wonderful . . . loaded with atmosphere, action, and intrigue
Steve Berry on BRETHREN