We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Little Wartime Library

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781529348729

Price: £19.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A splendid warm-hearted novel’ – Rachel Hore

London, 1944.

Clara Button is no ordinary librarian. While the world remains at war, in East London Clara has created the country’s only underground library, built over the tracks in the disused Bethnal Green tube station. Down here a secret community thrives: with thousands of bunk beds, a nursery, a café and a theatre offering shelter, solace and escape from the bombs that fall above.

Along with her glamorous best friend and library assistant Ruby Munroe, Clara ensures the library is the beating heart of life underground. But as the war drags on, the women’s determination to remain strong in the face of adversity is tested to the limits when it seems it may come at the price of keeping those closest to them alive.

Based on true events, The Little Wartime Library is a gripping and heart-wrenching page-turner that remembers one of the greatest resistance stories of the war.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Gripping, emotional and uplifting
Gill Paul
A captivating tale about the power of libraries and how they connect us . . . Meticulously researched, readers will be entranced by this fascinating slice of history
Andie Newton, USA Today bestselling author of The Girls from the Beach
A heartwarming story of how friendship and the written word sustain us in the toughest times. Based on a little-known true story, Kate Thompson's meticulous research and love of libraries shine through. Perfect for fans of Dear Mrs. Bird.
Janet Skeslien Charles, author of The Paris Library
I was totally immersed in The Little Wartime Library. Kate has such a talent for bringing history to vivid life. Utterly transporting, vivid and fresh.
Iona Grey, bestselling author of Letters to the Lost
Books help win the day in this splendid warm-hearted novel of wartime resilience and romance, based on a true story
Rachel Hore, bestselling author of A Beautiful Spy
Remarkable . . . Heartbreaking and inspiring, this brilliantly researched book also captures the essence of the story through its evocative words and thoughtfully written characters
My Weekly
A perfect wartime tale of hope against the odds
My Weekly
A compulsive read . . . enthralling
Bishops Stortford Independent
Libraries create writers! And here's a book as wrapped up in libraries as it could be . . .
The Library Campaigner
Fascinating and heartwarming
Mail on Sunday
The almost furtive joy of being able to borrow books to read for free, and the emotional liberation and adventure this ability confers, suffuses every chapter of this novel. Thompson's research is full of love and levity, showing how reading provides succour and sustenance even in the darkest of times
Daily Express
An ode to books, libraries and the resilience of women. Uplifting and heartwarming. The strength of the human spirit shines through
Louise Fein
A fascinating forgotten underground library
East London Advertiser
Riveting
Prima
Remarkable
People’s Friend
My best book of the year. I loved the feeling this book gave me. The fact that this community, this love of books realty did exist and really did make a difference, was a wonderful thing to discover
The Book Trail
Warm and uplifting historical fiction, all made to feel so real because of the historical details seamlessly woven into the story
Portybelle Book Blogger