Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Map of the Dark

A Map of the Dark

A girl missing
A woman, searching
A killer, planning…

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter.

FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.
She knows how it feels to be lost…

Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa’s skin. Everything she has buried – her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother’s death – threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself…and return to the darkness she’s been hiding from for years.

(P)2017 Hachette Audio
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 11th January 2018

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781473675599

Reviews

A terrific novel, wonderfully written, richly populated, and utterly gripping from start to finish
Chris Pavone, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of <i>The Travellers</i>
A beautifully rendered portrait of familial grief, loss, and decades-old demons wrapped inside a terrific race-against-time thriller starring a believably flawed heroine. I hope we haven't seen the last of FBI agent Elsa Myers
Sarah Weinman, editor of <i>Women Crime Writers</i>
A taut, tense, exciting read with a sharp and very human protagonist.
Reed Farrel Coleman, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of <i>What You Break</i>
A riveting, breathless novel, equal parts police procedural and emotional personal journey. Karen Ellis's twisty plot, dark storytelling, and nail-biting action kept me reading far too late into the night. A triumph!
Karen Dionne, author of <i>Home</i>
One of the most compelling psychological thrillers I've read in a long time...grabs you from the very first page and does not loosen its grip. I read this book in a day - I simply could not put it down - but I will be thinking about it for much longer.
Alison Gaylin, <i>USA Today</i> bestselling author of <i>What Remains of Me</i>
Deftly plotted and packed with blind curves, A Map of the Dark careens into dangerous territory, where Karen Ellis entwines complex storylines with breakneck precision. A must-read for fans of taut, unpredictable psychological suspense.
<i>New York Times</i> bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub
A Map of the Dark is a compelling and moving story of buried secrets and hidden demons
Sarah Ward, author of <i>In Bitter Chill</i>
Vivid, compelling and emotionally engaging, as the best crime novels are. Elsa is an unforgettable central character, damaged but determined. You know you are in good hands as the plot skilfully brings her past and her family into the investigation.... A perfect, deeply satisfying thriller that grips right to the end.
Jane Casey, author of <i>Let the Dead Speak</i>
Readers will savor getting to know this singular heroine, a cop who feels the call of a lost child as sharply as the knife's edge that she uses to score her own skin.
Kirkus
Compelling...a solid choice for readers who enjoy Tana French's Dublin Murder Squad series.
Booklist
Compellingly told, with a striking sting in the tail
Daily Mail
[A] thrilling launch of a new series... Works well as a solid police procedural and also an in-depth character study... Elsa maps out the darkness of a predator that preys on teenagers while navigating her own dark place.
Oline Cogdill, Associated Press
[A] riveting series launch... The tight plotting will keep readers turning the pages.
Publishers Weekly
Elegant, haunting... a far-from-ordinary FBI novel.
Literary Hub
Tight prose, strong characters, and deft storytelling... A riveting tale that begs to be read in one sitting. Readers who enjoy police procedurals and Karin Slaughter's thrillers will delight in discovering a new voice.
Library Journal