Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Map of the Dark

A Map of the Dark

If you’re lost she’ll find you
But who will save her?

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter.

FBI Agent Elsa Myers has a secret…

Elsa Myers is smart, determined, and gifted with an extraordinary ability to find missing children. When vulnerable teenager Ruby disappears from Queens, she is put on the case.

But Elsa’s skills are rooted in her own troubled past. She is haunted by her mother’s murder, her father is dying, and her relationship with her sister is crumbling.

As the case begins to look hopeless, it becomes more and more personal, tangling with the traumatic history she has worked so hard to hide.

As the darkness gathers around her, Elsa has to make a choice: can she save Ruby, if it means losing herself?

‘Compellingly told, with a striking sting in the tail.’ Daily Mail
‘A triumph!’ Karen Dionne, author of Home
‘A perfect, deeply satisfying thriller that grips right to the end.’ Jane Casey, author of Let the Dead Speak
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 11th January 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473662797

Reviews

A Map of the Dark is a compelling and moving story of buried secrets and hidden demons
Sarah Ward, author of <i>In Bitter Chill</i>
Compelling...a solid choice for readers who enjoy Tana French's Dublin Murder Squad series.
Booklist
Deftly plotted and packed with blind curves, A Map of the Dark careens into dangerous territory, where Karen Ellis entwines complex storylines with breakneck precision. A must-read for fans of taut, unpredictable psychological suspense.
<i>New York Times</i> bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub
A terrific novel, wonderfully written, richly populated, and utterly gripping from start to finish
Chris Pavone, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of <i>The Travellers</i>
A beautifully rendered portrait of familial grief, loss, and decades-old demons wrapped inside a terrific race-against-time thriller starring a believably flawed heroine. I hope we haven't seen the last of FBI agent Elsa Myers
Sarah Weinman, editor of <i>Women Crime Writers</i>
Vivid, compelling and emotionally engaging, as the best crime novels are. Elsa is an unforgettable central character, damaged but determined. You know you are in good hands as the plot skilfully brings her past and her family into the investigation.... A perfect, deeply satisfying thriller that grips right to the end.
Jane Casey, author of <i>Let the Dead Speak</i>
[A] riveting series launch... The tight plotting will keep readers turning the pages.
Publishers Weekly
Tight prose, strong characters, and deft storytelling... A riveting tale that begs to be read in one sitting. Readers who enjoy police procedurals and Karin Slaughter's thrillers will delight in discovering a new voice.
Library Journal
Elegant, haunting... a far-from-ordinary FBI novel.
Literary Hub
A riveting, breathless novel, equal parts police procedural and emotional personal journey. Karen Ellis's twisty plot, dark storytelling, and nail-biting action kept me reading far too late into the night. A triumph!
Karen Dionne, author of <i>Home</i>
One of the most compelling psychological thrillers I've read in a long time...grabs you from the very first page and does not loosen its grip. I read this book in a day - I simply could not put it down - but I will be thinking about it for much longer.
Alison Gaylin, <i>USA Today</i> bestselling author of <i>What Remains of Me</i>
A taut, tense, exciting read with a sharp and very human protagonist.
Reed Farrel Coleman, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of <i>What You Break</i>
Compellingly told, with a striking sting in the tail
Daily Mail
Readers will savor getting to know this singular heroine, a cop who feels the call of a lost child as sharply as the knife's edge that she uses to score her own skin.
Kirkus
[A] thrilling launch of a new series... Works well as a solid police procedural and also an in-depth character study... Elsa maps out the darkness of a predator that preys on teenagers while navigating her own dark place.
Oline Cogdill, Associated Press