Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dark Hollow

Dark Hollow

Charlie Parker returns in a gruesome new thriller, not to be missed for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly.

Still raw from the brutal slayings of his wife and daughter, and the events surrounding the capture of their killer, The Travelling Man, Charlie Parker retreats to the wintry Maine landscape of his childhood. By following in the steps of his beloved grandfather, Parker hopes to heal his spirit and get through the bitter anniversary of Jennifer and Susan’s murder. But the echoes of the past that await him are not all benign. In a gruesome re-enactment of Parker’s own nightmares, another young woman is killed with her child and his brief involvement in their lives impels Parker to hunt their vicious murderer. As the death toll mounts, Parker comes to realise that the true answer to the puzzle lies thirty years in the past, in a tree with strange fruit, in his own grandfather’s history, and in the perverted desires of a monster incarnate – Caleb Kyle.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th November 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848940321

Reviews

Classic American detective fiction and of a very high order.
Bernard Cornwell, <i>Mail on Sunday</i>
Despite the gore, this second novel is subtler and more complex than the best-selling EVERY DEAD THING. Connolly's lyrical language and occasional mystical passages are reminiscent of James Lee Burke. His hero . . . is developing into a credible and sympathetic personality
Sunday Telegraph
Despite the gore, this second novel is subtler and more complex than the best-selling EVERY DEAD THING. Connolly's lyrical language and occasional mystical passages are reminiscent of James Lee Burke. His hero is developing into a credible and sympathetic personality
<i>Sunday Telegraph</i>
'As the body count increases, Connolly introduces a chilling new villain and an age-old legend. Together they'll keep you on the edge of your seat. Don't read it alone!
Books
Connolly's evocative prose and sharp one-liners make it oddly akin to poetry
Independent
. . . a dark sense of foreboding from the opening pages should will and chill Connolly's considerable fan-base through this second novel at great pace. . . Killer imagery is his secret weapon
Sunday Business Post, Dublin
Connolly is not an easy author to pigeonhole. He is his own man: an original and exuberant story-teller, as he proves once more with this enjoyable book
Keith Baker in Scotland on Sunday
Atmospheric, compulsive and deeply upsetting, [DARK HOLLOW] mark(s) the appearance of a writer whose star is most definitely in the ascendancy
Manchester Metro
classic American detective fiction . . . and of a very high order
Bernard Cornwell, Mail on Sunday
This is an exciting thriller and Parker is an engaging hero.
Sunday Times
Connolly's characters have substance beyond vehicles for horror, and this is what puts him ahead in a crowded genre race
What's On (Amazon Books)
DARK HOLLOW is a frightening, disturbing and brutal tale interspersed with great moments of dark humour
Yorkshire Evening Press