Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Bobby Girls

The Bobby Girls

1914. While their men fight in France, at home in Britain women are finally seizing the opportunity to make a difference . . .

Maggie and her new friends Annie, Irene and Sarah come from very different backgrounds, but they’ve got one thing in common: they’ve all signed up for the Women’s Police Volunteers. They can’t wait to show the men just what they’re made of.

But soon, Maggie realises she’s in over her head. Hiding her involvement with the WPV from her tyrannous father is becoming ever more difficult, and when she bumps into an old acquaintance with a big chip on his shoulder, the dangers of her new life become all too clear . . .

As she and the girls work to find their feet on the beat, will their friendship get her through the darkest of times?

A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War – perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife.

(P) 2019 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 31st October 2019

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781529305326

Reviews

A well-researched and interesting story giving a great insight into early women's policing.
Anna Jacobs, bestselling author of the Ellindale series
A lovely story! The author has researched the era and the theme very well. The characters stood out on the page and through their eyes you are transported back to a different age.
AnneMarie Brear, author of Beneath a Stormy Sky
Written with warmth and compassion, the novel gives fascinating insights into the lives of three courageous young women.
Margaret Kaine, RNA award-winning author of Ring of Clay
This fantastic debut from Johanna Bell is a wonderfully warm story of courage, friendship and grit. Filled with richly drawn characters that leap from the page, and a plot that's so well researched and well written you will believe you are in the thick of wartime policing. The Bobby Girls is a must read for all saga fans.''This fantastic debut from Johanna Bell is a wonderfully warm story of courage, friendship and grit. Filled with richly drawn characters that leap from the page, and a plot that's so well researched and well written you will believe you are in the thick of wartime policing. The Bobby Girls is a must read for all saga fans.
Fiona Ford, bestselling author of Christmas at Liberty’s
I really enjoyed reading about Britain's first female police officers. A lot of research has gone into this book and it's all the richer and more readable for it. An exciting new voice in women's fiction.
Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Singer Girls