We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Great Escape from Woodlands Nursing Home

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781529349290

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 27th October 2020

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance / Adult & Contemporary Romance

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘I loved the characters with all their quirkiness and hilarious situations they find themselves as they face living in a nursing home… Many laugh out loud moments… Wonderful’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

At nearly ninety, retired nature writer Hattie Bloom prefers the company of birds to people, but when a fall lands her in a nursing home she struggles to cope with the loss of independence and privacy. From the confines of her ‘room with a view’ – of the car park! – she dreams of escape.

Fellow ‘inmate’, the gregarious, would-be comedian Walter Clements also plans on returning home as soon as he is fit and able to take charge of his mobility scooter.

When Hattie and Walter officially meet at The Night Owls, a clandestine club run by Sister Bronwyn and her dog, Queenie, they seem at odds. But when Sister Bronwyn is dismissed over her unconventional approach to aged care, they must join forces – and very slowly, an unlikely, unexpected friendship begins to grow.

Full of wisdom and warmth, this is a gorgeously poignant, hilarious story showing that it is never too late to laugh or to love. Perfect for fans of Judy Leigh, Jill Mansell and Sally Page.


Readers love The Great Escape from Woodlands Nursing Home:

Hilarious. Who doesn’t love old people getting up to mischief?!‘ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A book that will leave you with a smile on your face. There are antics, laughter, and tears, but also a good read to be had. Highly recommended‘ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘What a wonderful book this is! It’s warm, empathetic, at times laugh-out-loud funny and at times it made me cry but overall it filled me with a sense of hope‘ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘The characters in this story are just delightful and I was so absorbed with their stories that I read it in one sitting and really wished it would go on longer… Loved it’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Praise for Joanna Nell:

‘Hugely entertaining . . . funny and heart-warming’ Woman & Home

‘Warm-hearted book that had me rooting for all the characters and laughing out loud’ Libby Page, author of The Lido

‘Poignant and warm-hearted . . . a tonic for our times’ Holly Miller, author of The Sight of You

‘A warm and touching story with a cast of characters who became my friends’ Katie Marsh, author of How Not to Murder Your Ex

‘A funny and poignant exploration of growing old disgracefully’ Culturefly

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

A gentle, warm-hearted book that had me rooting for all the characters and laughing out loud at points. A book that shows it is never too late to learn how to live, to make new friends and to fall in love.
Libby Page, author of The Lido
A warm and touching story with a cast of characters who became my friends - I loved The Single Ladies of the Jacaranda Retirement Village with all its wit, wisdom and spirit
Katie Marsh, author of The Rest of Me
The perfect blend of funny and moving; Peggy Smart had me laughing and crying in this ultimately uplifting story
Natasha Lester, author of The Paris Seamstress
A funny and poignant exploration of growing old disgracefully and enjoying your twilight years.
Culturefly
I adored this funny yet moving story about home, friendship, and what it means to live. Poignant and warm-hearted, it's a tonic for our times. I was truly sad to say goodbye to these spirited and endearing characters.
Holly Miller, author of THE SIGHT OF YOU
PRAISE FOR THE GREAT ESCAPE FROM WOODLANDS NURSING HOME
Tender and funny
Woman & Home
PRAISE FOR JOANNA NELL
Hugely entertaining . . . funny and heart-warming
Woman & Home