Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz

The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, After Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes the extraordinary true story of a British soldier who marched willingly into Buna-Monowitz, the concentration camp known as Auschwitz III.

In the summer of 1944, Denis Avey was being held in a POW labour camp, E715, near Auschwitz III. He had heard of the brutality meted out to the prisoners there and he was determined to witness what he could.

He hatched a plan to swap places with a Jewish inmate and smuggled himself into his sector of the camp. He spent the night there on two occasions and experienced at first-hand the cruelty of a place where slave workers, had been sentenced to death through labour.

Astonishingly, he survived to witness the aftermath of the Death March where thousands of prisoners were murdered by the Nazis as the Soviet Army advanced. After his own long trek right across central Europe he was repatriated to Britain.

For decades he couldn’t bring himself to revisit the past, but now Denis Avey feels able to tell the full story – a tale as gripping as it is moving – which offers us a unique insight into the mind of an ordinary man whose moral and physical courage are almost beyond belief.
Read More

Genre: Humanities / History / General & World History

On Sale: 6th June 2019

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781444714197

Reviews

An astonishing heroic tale of a steady character.
<i>Jüdische Zeitung</i> (Germany)
This memoir is an important contribution to a terrible chapter in history.
<i>Daily Express</i>
A 'strange, brave and bracing story'.
<i>Canberra Times</i>
'A remarkable story'.
<i>De Telegraaf</i> (Holland)
an excellent memoir of survival.
<i>Publishers Weekly</i>
A unique war story from a brave man.
<i>Kirkus</i>
This is a most important book, and a timely reminder of the dangers that face any society once intolerance and racism take hold.
Sir Martin Gilbert
'Exceptional'.
<i>Morgenpost</i> (Germany)
'This is the most amazing Holocaust memoir it's been my good fortune to read...this is a beautiful, uplifting book about a real ben adom, a mensch, who saw evil and, instead of averting his eyes, did what he could to help the victims'.
<i>Washington Jewish Week</i>
'An admirable story'.
<i>Periodista digital</i> (Spain)
What starts as an act of reportage then becomes a moving and ultimately triumphant story of survival.
<i>Belfast Telegraph</i>
This is the incredible story of British soldier Denis Avey who broke into Auschwitz to uncover the horrors that were concealed there by the Nazis...This is a brutal account of what he experienced. There are some who doubt his story but don't let that ruin this extraordinary book.
<i>Press Association</i>
THE MAN WHO BROKE INTO AUSCHWITZ will take your breath away.
<i>La revista de Ana Rosa</i> (Spain)
Denis is a hero in time of terror, a man of limitless moral and physical courage.
Henry Kamm, <i>New York Times</i> correspondent and Pulitzer Prize winner

Extraordinary Lives, Extraordinary Stories of World War Two