We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

An Englishwoman in New York

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781848548329

Price: £6.99

ON SALE: 20th June 2013

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Select a format:

Paperback
This homage to the charm and romance of New York is a coming-of-age novel for grown-ups that will appeal to readers of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary, Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It and Melissa Bank’s Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing.

When Lucy’s husband loses his job and is relocated to New York, she is forced to give up her posh London life and move to a tiny Manhattan apartment. Homesick and resentful at first, Lucy soon finds herself embarking on an exhilarating new affair – no, not with her husband, although she is surprised to find they do still love each other, but with the city itself and the three women she meets at the school gates who, against all odds, become her friends.

Christy, married to a wealthy older man, questions her life choice as she fantasizes about her doorman and tries to make peace with her angry stepdaughter. Julia is a workaholic television writer who becomes convinced her family is better off without her, until a neighbour’s dog makes her re-think everything. Meanwhile Robyn, bread-winning wife to an aspiring novelist, has had enough. She wants what her friends are having – even if it means an affair with at least one, if not all, of their husbands . . .

In the tradition of Melissa Bank’s The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing, with shades of Sex and the City, An Englishwoman in New York is the perfect coming-of-age novel for grown-ups.

This book is published in the US under the title No One Could Have Guessed the Weather

‘Very smart, very savvy and very very funny’ Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

‘Fabulously clever, brilliantly observed’ Cathy Kelly

‘Readers will find themselves on these pages and revel in the connection . . . I loved it’ Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker’s Wife

Reviews

'Very smart, very savvy and very very funny'
Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of <i>Sister</i>
'Fabulously clever, brilliantly observed'
Cathy Kelly
'Readers will find themselves on these pages and revel in the connection . . . I loved it'
Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of <i>The Shoemaker's Wife</i>
'It was sophisticated, witty, with a sharp eye for the ridiculous. I loved it!'
Katie Fforde
A subversively charming debut about a group of happily imperfect New Yorkers . . . Clever and witty: the best kind of summer book
Kirkus
AN ENGLISHWOMAN IN NEW YORK serves up a tasty dose of female bonding in the Big Apple
Sunday Times (Ireland)
Casey's characters make [An Englishwoman in New York] stand out in the canon of contemporary commercial women's fiction. Her writing is sharp and precise and brilliantly visual
Sunday Business Post
A sophisticated and beguiling tale . . . witty and wise . . . full of quotable one liners and clever observations that manage not to obscure the considerable heart of the novel
Irish Independent
Casey's debut leaves the reader eager for more
Publishers Weekly
A sliding puzzle of a book . . . a quick, breezy read
New York Observer
Grown-up, superior chick lit: full of wit and clever observations on the cultural differences between London and New York, but also on friendship between women'
Lady
Witty and sasy . . . a smart, funny book that has as its backdrop vibrant, bustling New York
Sunday Express
Grown-up superior chick lit: full of wit and clever observations on the cultural differences between London and New York, but also on friendship between
Lady
A witty, sophisticated piece of entertainment that doesn't insult our intelligence and isn't written for little girls . . . I read this in the garden and it was perfect
Saga
I couldn't have loved it any more. But this book immediately
Daily Mail