Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Safe Place

The Safe Place

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and Lesley Kara’s The Rumour

A BEAUTIFUL HOME MIGHT HIDE DANGEROUS SECRETS . . .

Emily Proudman has been offered the chance of a lifetime – leave her messy London life, move to a beautiful estate in France and help her boss’s wife take care of their daughter. It seems like the perfect opportunity to start again.

But once there, Emily soon starts to suspect that her charismatic new employers aren’t telling her the whole truth. That there are even dangerous secrets hidden beneath the glamorous facade.

Why have the family been moved to this isolated house so far from home? Why does her bosses’ daughter refuse to speak or be touched? Why are there whispers in the night?

The only problem is, the more Emily knows, the less chance there is she will ever be able to leave . . .

(P) 2020 AudioBrien
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 16th July 2020

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781529375114

Reviews

The Safe Place is compellingly disturbing. Anna Downes is a powerful story writer who will lull you into a false sense of security - and then pounce. An author to be watched
Jane Corry, The Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband’s Wife and I Made a Mistake
The Safe Place is a dark and wonderful debut that lulls you in with beautiful prose and complex, believable characters, then beats you over the head with a killer plot and a thrilling climax. It's the kind of book you race through as quickly as you can so you can start it again. Everyone will be talking about this book!
Christian White, author of The Nowhere Child and The Wife and the Widow
A brilliantly atmospheric novel that keeps you equally gripped and unsettled from page one. Starkly original and with an alarmingly plausible premise, this is destined to be a bestseller
J.P. Pomare, bestselling author of, Call Me Evie
It's such a rare thing - a claustrophobic, addictive thriller that lets you actually feel for all of the characters involved. Anna has such skill in combining the heart-in-mouth feeling that everything is building to a disaster with genuine emotion
Gytha Lodge, bestselling author of, She Lies in Wait
The tension ratchets up and up in this beautifully paced thriller - an outstanding debut which is atmospheric and populated by complex and sympathetic characters. You'll be thinking about them long after you've finished reading. The Safe Place is destined to be a book club favourite, as readers debate the morality and motivation driving the characters and plot
Chris Hammer, award-winning author of Scrublands
I loved THE SAFE PLACE... it was tense and atmospheric with the seemingly idyllic yet eerie setting. A truly gripping read
Karen Hamilton, author of the Sunday Times bestseller The Perfect Girlfriend
An exciting and compelling new voice, Anna Downes' The Safe Place is a very accomplished debut
B.A. Paris
I was completely captivated, which, let me tell you, is rare these days. I loved the characters, how clearly they were painted, their quirks, their flaws and strengths, and I blazed through the book. Richly evocative with a dark, atmospheric heart, THE SAFE PLACE is seductive, irresistible and suspenseful. I was completely gripped from the first page to the pulse-pounding end. I recommend reading THE SAFE PLACE poolside with a strawberry margarita in hand. It's the perfect summer suspense. Five stars from me
Christina McDonald, author of The Night Olivia Fell
As thrilling and gripping as everyone is saying. Can't wait to see this making a splash in the book world on its release. Put this on your #mustread list now
Kate Mildenhall, author of The Mother Fault
A gripping, brilliantly written thriller
The Sun
The Safe Place by Anna Downes is truly a one-sitting read for me as once I'd started it, I honestly couldn't stop. Anna's writing is so immersive that I was with her protagonist Emily every step of the way until the very end, when I realized I'd forgotten to breathe! A mesmerizing debut
Sandie Jones, author of The New York Times bestseller The Other Woman
When something seems too good to be true, it probably is. A captivating narration by author Anna Downes adds that extra spark to her neo-gothic novel . . . Downes knows her characters and delivers them with professional expertise, original plotting, and a masterful performance. She creates an uneasy atmosphere from the first, adding layers of uncertainty that cause Emily (and the listener) to question reality. Chilling. Disturbing. A nail-biter to the end.
Audiofile Magazine