Related to: 'One Quiet Woman'

Visit Tristan's website

The Natural Navigator

Discover how to find your way solely using nature as your guide

Hodder Paperbacks

Gifts For Our Time

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

High Street

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Reward

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

The Trader's Gift

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

The Trader's Dream

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Sister

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Wife

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Spinners Lake

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Our Mary Ann

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

She thought the worst was behind her . . . Life is tough in Lancashire in 1905 - and especially so for fifteen-year-old Mary Ann, who was born out of wedlock. When her new stepfather begins to abuse her, Mary Ann doesn't know how much more she can take - until the worst happens and she is sent away to bear his child. After the birth, she manages to escape to Blackpool with the help of her new friend Gabriel.Years later, the Great War brings Mary Ann many new opportunities, and brings Gabriel back into her life - but circumstances mean they can never be together. When her mother dies, Mary Ann decides it's finally time to return to Lancashire and uncover the secrets of her past. But an unknown danger threatens both her and the child she thought she'd lost forever . . . Will history repeat itself - or will Mary Ann's courage win her the happiness she deserves?************************What readers are saying about OUR MARY ANN'Spellbinding' - 5 stars'I couldn't put this book down. A tale of a strong woman who managed to keep her head and heart up against adversity' - 5 stars'First class!' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Twopenny Rainbows

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Three sisters. Three journeys. One destination.In 1863 the authorities send Irish orphans Ismay and Mara to Australia against their will. Just when they think it can't get any worse, on arrival they're separated from one another. While Ismay is forced to take a job as a maid miles away in the country, Mara must stay in the care of the catholic mission. Desperate to be reunited, they both run away but Ismay soon runs into danger out in the bush. She is saved by Malachi Firth, but although he's attracted to her, he doesn't want to be encumbered with a wife.Meanwhile, their elder sister Keara has not forgotten them. But she has had her own struggles to face and by the time she reaches Melbourne in search of her sisters, she finds that the trail is cold. Danger continues to threaten all three girls and they start to wonder: will they ever see one another again?********************What readers are saying about TWOPENNY RAINBOWS'This is one of the best books I have ever read' - 5 stars'Once again I couldn't put it down . . . An excellent read' - 5 stars'Another fantastic book' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Freedom's Land

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Calico Road

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

'This is one of the best books I've ever read' - 5-star reader reviewCalico Road runs through a tiny Lancashire hamlet up on the edge of the moors, miles from anywhere. Its folk are an independent breed - and in 1827 they are a thorn in the side of the vicious mill owner in the valley below.Toby Fletcher's father ignored his bastard son while alive. Now Toby is the new owner of the rambling old inn, an unwitting keeper of its secrets. Then Meg Staley comes to Calico - a woman who was strong enough to survive one tragedy, but found it harder to withstand a second blow. Toby finds her wandering the moors, cold and starving, and brings her back to the inn. Working there, Meg starts to rebuild her life and find a fragile happiness.But then the secrets of Calico Road come crashing down on her and those she has grown to love . . .*******************What readers are saying about CALICO ROAD'Anna Jacobs' writing is sooo good' - 5 stars'Full of excitement, didn't want to put it down' - 5 stars'Another lovely book by Anna Jacobs' - 5 stars'An amazing read' - 5 stars'A brilliant series' - 5 stars'Could not put it down' - 5 stars

Hodder Paperbacks

Threepenny Dreams

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Recently widowed, Hannah Firth is still young - young enough to dream of a new life. When her spiteful daughter-in-law uses her as an unpaid servant, Hannah tries to leave, but she is unaware of the depths that Patty's spite will lead her to.Nathaniel King's life is ruined when his landlord's son lays waste to his market garden for a prank - and the resulting feud puts Nathaniel's livelihood at stake. Hannah has only a few coins and dreams of a happier future to sustain her as she tramps the roads and evades pursuit. When she meets Nathaniel, the attraction between them cannot be denied and they join forces. But their enemies have money and powerful allies on their side and will stop at nothing to get rid of them.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Pennyworth of Sunshine

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Love can cross oceans . . .Keara Michaels doesn't want to leave her family in Ireland, but fate sends her first to Lancashire, then across the sea to Australia, pregnant and penniless. And Theo Mullane, the man who loves her, is married, with an ailing baby son, so cannot follow her as he longs to.Mark Gibson leaves Lancashire to avoid marriage. But gold prospecting is a dangerous pursuit, and when his gentle young wife dies in childbirth, his father-in-law kidnaps the baby. So Mark runs away again, this time to Western Australia, where he employs Keara in his country inn.But danger threatens them all, even in the bush, as Keara searches for her lost sisters, Theo comes looking for the woman he loves, and Mark at last confronts his past.**********************What readers are saying about A PENNYWORTH OF SUNSHINE'I couldn't put it down' - 5 stars'An excellent read from start to finish' - 5 stars'Brilliant, as always . . . Anna Jacobs never fails to keep the story line motivated, gripping, and endearing' - 5 stars

Hodder Paperbacks

Our Eva

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Lancashire Legacy

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Lancashire Lass

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Our Lizzie

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Lizzie Kershaw is an independent spirit; ever since her father's death she has had to be a survivor.She makes an ill-advised marriage in order to escape her harsh home life. However, she quickly discovers that she has married a selfish and violent man. His beatings are ceaseless and she finds herself compelled to run away. With the help of some suffragettes she escapes to Manchester, where she finds work in a munitions factory for a while. Sam manages to find her and drags her home. It is only when his violence causes her to lose their unborn baby that Lizzie really finds the strength to make things change, and to find happiness with a man who loves her.

Hodder & Stoughton

Ridge Hill

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

**The third book in the stunning Gibson Family series, perfect for fans of 'Call the Midwife', Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson**Lancashire, 1848. Preparations are under way for Annie Gibson's wedding to Bilsden's wealthy mill owner, Frederick Hallam. But not everyone is as pleased as they are. Frederick's daughter is horrified at the prospect of a new, attractive stepmother arriving at the house on Ridge Hill. Even Annie's own family feels threatened. The only person who seems pleased is Annie's brother Tom. And soon, real troubles begin to pile up for the Gibsons. Tom's happiness is jeopardised bya shocking revelation that turns his world upside down. Annie's son, William, finds out some devastating news about his own father. And even Annie's joy cannot last. Because someone has uncovered the secrets she has fought so hard to keep hidden . . .***********Praise for Anna Jacobs:'Anna Jacobs' books have an impressive grasp of human emotions' - Sunday Times'Catherine Cookson fans will cheer!' - Peterborough Evening Telegraph'Anna Jacobs' books are deservedly popular. She is one of the best writers of Lancashire sagas around' - Historical Novels Reviews

Hodder Paperbacks

Salem Street

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs