Martin Davies - The Conjuror's Bird - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948709
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2006
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444758085
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2012

The Conjuror's Bird

By Martin Davies
Read by David Schofield and Lally Schofield

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A bestselling Richard and Judy Book Club title, THE CONJUROR'S BIRD is a dazzling debut novel, spanning three centuries of secrets and surprises.

A bestselling Richard and Judy Book Club title, The Conjuror's Bird is a dazzling debut novel, spanning three centuries of secrets and surprises.

It seems a long time ago that Fitz and Gabby were together, with his work on extinct species about to make him world-famous. Now, it's his career that is almost extinct.

Suddenly, though, the beautiful Gabby reappears in his life. She wants his help in tracing the history of The Mysterious Bird of Ulieta, a creature once owned by the great 18th Century naturalist Joseph Banks.

It soon becomes clear that Fitz is getting involved in something more complicated - and dangerous - than the search for a stuffed bird.

To solve the puzzle, he must uncover the identity of the amazing woman Banks loved - a woman who has disappeared from history as effectively as the specimen he is hunting.

A mixture of detection, romance and history, The Conjuror's Bird has all the makings of a word-of-mouth bestseller.

(P)2006 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Biographical Notes

Martin Davies grew up in North West England. All his writing is done in cafes, on buses or on tube trains, and an aversion to laptops means that he always works in longhand. He has travelled widely, including in the Middle East and India, and substantial parts of THE UNICORN ROAD were written while travelling through Sicily. He works as a consultant in the broadcasting industry.

Translation rights in Martin's books have now been sold in Germany, Sweden, Poland, France, Italy, Portugal, Greece, Korea, Russia, Serbia, Turkey and Holland.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781844564781
  • Publication date: 07 Sep 2006
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Sceptre

Varina

Charles Frazier
Authors:
Charles Frazier
John Murray

Gun Island

Amitav Ghosh
Authors:
Amitav Ghosh
Sceptre

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Authors:
Pitchaya Sudbanthad
John Murray

The Wolf and the Watchman

Niklas Natt och Dag
Authors:
Niklas Natt och Dag

Best Debut, The Swedish Academy of Crime Writers' Award 2017'Thrilling, unnerving, clever and beautiful' Fredrik BackmanThe year is 1793. Over a year has passed since the death of Gustav III of Sweden and the nation is ruled with an iron fist by lord of the realm Gustaf Adolf Reuterholm. In the wake of the old king's passing, trust has turned into a sparse commodity. Paranoia and whispered conspiracies can be found at every corner.A mutilated body is discovered in the malodorous waters of Fatburen Lake on the island of Södermalm. Missing both its legs and arms, the body has been disfigured beyond recognition. Though Cecil Winge of the Stockholm Police is himself marked for an early death by consumption, he takes on the case of solving the mystery of the Fatburen corpse. Cecil soon finds himself entangled in a web of dark secrets and boundless evil, a web with threads reaching all the way to the upper echelons of Stockholm society.In his debut novel The Wolf and the Watchman, Niklas Natt och Dag paints a compelling portrait of late 18th century Stockholm, the frightful yet fascinating reality lurking behind the powdered and painted veneer of the era.

John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala
Two Roads

Frieda

Annabel Abbs
Authors:
Annabel Abbs

The extraordinary story of Frieda von Richthofen, wife of D. H. Lawrence and the real-life inspiration for Lady Chatterley's Lover.Germany 1907. Aristocrat Frieda von Richthofen has rashly married English professor Ernest Weekley. Visiting her sisters in Munich, she is captivated by a city alive with ideas of revolution and free love.England, 1912Trapped in her marriage to Ernest, Frieda meets the penniless but ambitious younger writer D. H. Lawrence. Their scandalous affair and tempestuous relationship unleashes a creative outpouring that changes the course of literature forever. But for Frieda, this fulfilment comes at the terrible personal cost of home and family.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Sea of Gold

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

1809. After his heroic actions during the retreat to Corunna, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is the toast of London society. Here he falls in with the legendary frigate captain, Lord Thomas Cochrane.So begins a relationship, professional and personal, that will be unlike any that Kydd has known: a relationship that will lead him, almost simultaneously, to first glory, then ruin.The French fleet is massing in the Basque Roads in a near impregnatable position. The Admiralty orders Cochrane to command an attack, to the chagrin of more senior officers who object to being overlooked and Cochrane's reputation for daring. Cochrane insists that his new friend, Kydd, is in the forefront of the assault armada, a motley collection of rocket, bomb and fire ships that will set the anchorage ablaze - this despite Kydd's almost pathological fear of fire. The fallout from what follows will see Kydd financially ruined, with only his former shipmates, his oldest friend of all, Nicholas Renzi, and the whisper of hidden Spanish treasure promising the sea of gold that he needs to save himself. 'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' - Daily Express'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Two Roads

A Well-Behaved Woman

Therese Anne Fowler
Authors:
Therese Anne Fowler
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald
Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

By the Costa Award-winning author of PURE, a stunning historical novel with the grip of a thriller, written in richly evocative, luminous prose. One rain-swept February night in 1809, an unconscious man is carried into a house in Somerset. He is Captain John Lacroix, home from Britain's disastrous campaign against Napoleon's forces in Spain.Gradually Lacroix recovers his health, but not his peace of mind - he cannot talk about the war or face the memory of what happened in a village on the gruelling retreat to Corunna. After the command comes to return to his regiment, he sets out instead for the Hebrides, with the vague intent of reviving his musical interests and collecting local folksongs. Lacroix sails north incognito, unaware that he has far worse to fear than being dragged back to the army: a vicious English corporal and a Spanish officer are on his trail, with orders to kill. The haven he finds on a remote island with a family of free-thinkers and the sister he falls for are not safe, at all.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

The long-awaited standalone sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD.In this sweeping epic novel, which can be read as a completely standalone story or as the sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD, the New World Rising series opens out into the pageant and power of renaissance Europe.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft.On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together...****In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house's lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery. When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.Praise for Sarah Maine:'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' - The Times'An echo of Daphne du Maurier' - Independent'Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...' - Kirkus

Hodder & Stoughton

The Scarlet Pimpernel

Baroness Orczy
Authors:
Baroness Orczy
Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Sceptre

The Mercy Seat

Elizabeth H. Winthrop
Authors:
Elizabeth H. Winthrop
Hodder & Stoughton

Phoebe

Paula Gooder
Authors:
Paula Gooder
Hodder & Stoughton

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David

'An entertaining tale takes us deep into the seamy side of Victorian London' The TimesLondon 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he suspects) the Duke of Cambridge, commander-in-chief of the army. George has fought his way through wars in Africa and Afghanistan, won the VC and married his sweetheart, but he's also a gambler, short of money and in no position to turn down the job of 'minder' to Prince Albert Victor, second in line to the throne. George is to befriend the charming young cavalry officer and keep him out of trouble - no easy task, given that the Prince is a known target for Irish nationalist assassins, while his secret sexual orientation leaves him open to blackmail and scandal. To make matters worse, the Prince is also in the habit of heading out late at night to sample the dubious pleasures of the East End. Both outsiders in their different ways, perhaps the two men have more in common than they know, but when a series of horrible murders begins in Whitechapel, on just the nights the Prince has been there, George is drawn into an investigation which forces him to confront the unthinkable...A brilliant standalone adventure based on detailed research, this is a thrilling novel of suspense and a fascinating new twist on the Jack the Ripper story.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin