Karen Ellis - A Map of the Dark - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473675599
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473662773
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018

A Map of the Dark

By Karen Ellis

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling new FBI series with a brilliant, troubled lead: perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.

A girl, missing
A woman, searching
A killer, planning...

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter.

FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.
She knows how it feels to be lost...

Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.

Biographical Notes

Karen Ellis is the pseudonym of Katia Lief, the author of several internationally bestselling crime novels, including The Money Kill, the fourth installment of her Karin Schaeffer series published in 2013 and nominated for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. She teaches fiction writing at The New School in Manhattan and lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473662797
  • Publication date: 11 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
A terrific novel, wonderfully written, richly populated, and utterly gripping from start to finish — Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author of The Travellers
A riveting, breathless novel, equal parts police procedural and emotional personal journey. Karen Ellis's twisty plot, dark storytelling, and nail-biting action kept me reading far too late into the night. A triumph! — Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter
A beautifully rendered portrait of familial grief, loss, and decades-old demons wrapped inside a terrific race-against-time thriller starring a believably flawed heroine. I hope we haven't seen the last of FBI agent Elsa Myers — Sarah Weinman, editor of Women Crime Writers
One of the most compelling psychological thrillers I've read in a long time...grabs you from the very first page and does not loosen its grip. I read this book in a day - I simply could not put it down - but I will be thinking about it for much longer. — Alison Gaylin, USA Today bestselling author of What Remains of Me
A taut, tense, exciting read with a sharp and very human protagonist. — Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times bestselling author of What You Break
Deftly plotted and packed with blind curves, A Map of the Dark careens into dangerous territory, where Karen Ellis entwines complex storylines with breakneck precision. A must-read for fans of taut, unpredictable psychological suspense. — New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Robinson 11

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

Mulholland Books

New psychological thriller

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder Paperbacks

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The new thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.Charlie Parker aids the police when a buried, semi-mummified body of a woman is discovered. She apparently died of childbirth. Parker has to find out who she was and what happened to the child.

Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

Flavia Albia is a private investigator, always drawn to an intriguing puzzle - even if it is put to her by her new husband's hostile ex-wife. On the Quirinal Hill, Clodia Volumnia, a very young girl with stars in her eyes, has died, amid suggestions that she was poisoned by a love-potion. It will have been supplied by a local witch, who goes by the name of Pandora, though Albia learns that Pandora carries on a trade in herbal beauty products while hiding much more dangerous connections. Pandora's beloved grandson, a trainee hack lawyer, is one of the dead girl's empty-headed friends; can this be relevant?As she homes in on the truth, Albia has to contend with the occult, organised crime, an unusual fertility symbol, and celebrity dining. She discovers the young girl was a handful; her father mediates in disputes, yet has divorced his grief-stricken wife and is now suing his own mother-in-law; Clodia's so-called friends were none too friendly. The supposedly sweet air of the Quirinal hides the smells of loose morality, casual betrayal and even gangland conflict. When a friend of her own is murdered, Albia determines to expose as much of this local sickness as she can - beginning with the truth about the death of little Clodia.'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real.' The Times on Sunday

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

Iron Gold

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Burnt

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Mulholland Books

The Deaths of December

Susi Holliday
Authors:
Susi Holliday

The hunt is on for a serial killer in a thrilling festive crime novel.It looks like a regular advent calendar. Until DC Becky Greene starts opening doors...and discovers a crime scene behind almost every one. The police hope it's a prank. Because if it isn't, a murderer has just surfaced - someone who's been killing for twenty years. But why now? And why has he sent it to this police station? As the country relaxes into festive cheer, Greene and DS Eddie Carmine must race against time to catch the killer. Because there are four doors left, and four murders will fill them...It's shaping up to be a deadly little Christmas.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Mulholland Books

The Cleaner

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

The Killing Hour

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Blood Men

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Relentlessly gripping, deliciously twisted, and shot through with a vein of humor that's as dark as hell' Mark BillinghamWINNER OF NEW ZEALAND'S PRESTIGIOUS NGAIO MARSH AWARD FOR BEST CRIME NOVEL OF 2011Edward Hunter has it all - a beautiful wife and daughter, a great job, a bright future... and a very dark past.Twenty years ago, a serial killer was caught, convicted, and locked away in the country's most hellish of penitentiaries. That man was Edward's father. Edward has struggled his entire life to put the nightmares of his childhood behind him. But a week before Christmas, violence once again makes an unwelcome appearance into his world. Suddenly he's going to need the help of his father, a man he hasn't seen since he was a boy. Is Edward destined to be just like him, to become a man of blood?A true master of the genre that only comes along once in a generation, Cleave unveils a brutally vivid picture of a killer's mind and of a city of fallen angels captured at the ends of the earth.

Mulholland Books

The Laughterhouse

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'A modern equivalent of James Ellroy's Los Angeles of the 1950s, a discordant symphony of violence and human weakness' Publishers Weekly. Theodore Tate never forgot his first crime scene - ten-year-old Jessica found dead in "the Laughterhouse," an old abandoned slaughterhouse with the S painted over. The killer was found and arrested. Justice was served. Or was it? Fifteen years later, a new killer arrives in Christchurch, and he has a list of people who were involved in Jessica's murder case, one of whom is the unfortunate Dr. Stanton, a man with three young girls. If Tate is going to help them, he has to find the connection between the killer, the Laughterhouse, and the city's suddenly growing murder rate. And he needs to figure it out fast, because Stanton and his daughters have been kidnapped, and the doctor is being forced to make an impossible decision: which one of his daughters is to die first.

Mulholland Books

Joe Victim

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Five Minutes Alone

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave