Karen Ellis - A Map of the Dark - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473675599
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473662803
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018
Books in this series

A Map of the Dark

By Karen Ellis

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling new FBI series with a brilliant, troubled lead: perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter.

'Compellingly told, with a striking sting in the tail' Daily Mail

'Elsa is an unforgettable central character, damaged but determined . . . A perfect, deeply satisfying thriller that grips right to the end' Jane Casey, author of Let the Dead Speak

**********************

A girl missing
A woman, searching
A killer, planning...

If you're lost she'll find you
But who will save her?

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter.

Elsa Myers is smart, determined, and gifted with an extraordinary ability to find missing children. When vulnerable teenager Ruby disappears from Queens, she is put on the case.

But Elsa's skills are rooted in her own troubled past. She is haunted by her mother's murder, her father is dying, and her relationship with her sister is crumbling. As the case begins to look hopeless, it becomes more and more personal, tangling with the traumatic history she has worked so hard to hide.

As the darkness gathers around her, Elsa has to make a choice: can she save Ruby, if it means losing herself?

Biographical Notes

Karen Ellis is the pseudonym of Katia Lief, the author of several internationally bestselling crime novels, including The Money Kill, the fourth installment of her Karin Schaeffer series published in 2013 and nominated for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. She teaches fiction writing at The New School in Manhattan and lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473662797
  • Publication date: 11 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Compellingly told, with a striking sting in the tail — Daily Mail
Tight prose, strong characters, and deft storytelling... A riveting tale that begs to be read in one sitting. Readers who enjoy police procedurals and Karin Slaughter's thrillers will delight in discovering a new voice. — Library Journal
A riveting, breathless novel, equal parts police procedural and emotional personal journey. Karen Ellis's twisty plot, dark storytelling, and nail-biting action kept me reading far too late into the night. A triumph! — Karen Dionne, author of Home
Elegant, haunting... a far-from-ordinary FBI novel. — Literary Hub
Vivid, compelling and emotionally engaging, as the best crime novels are. Elsa is an unforgettable central character, damaged but determined. You know you are in good hands as the plot skilfully brings her past and her family into the investigation.... A perfect, deeply satisfying thriller that grips right to the end. — Jane Casey, author of Let the Dead Speak
A Map of the Dark is a compelling and moving story of buried secrets and hidden demons — Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill
A terrific novel, wonderfully written, richly populated, and utterly gripping from start to finish — Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author of The Travellers
A beautifully rendered portrait of familial grief, loss, and decades-old demons wrapped inside a terrific race-against-time thriller starring a believably flawed heroine. I hope we haven't seen the last of FBI agent Elsa Myers — Sarah Weinman, editor of Women Crime Writers
One of the most compelling psychological thrillers I've read in a long time...grabs you from the very first page and does not loosen its grip. I read this book in a day - I simply could not put it down - but I will be thinking about it for much longer. — Alison Gaylin, USA Today bestselling author of What Remains of Me
A taut, tense, exciting read with a sharp and very human protagonist. — Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times bestselling author of What You Break
Deftly plotted and packed with blind curves, A Map of the Dark careens into dangerous territory, where Karen Ellis entwines complex storylines with breakneck precision. A must-read for fans of taut, unpredictable psychological suspense. — New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub
Readers will savor getting to know this singular heroine, a cop who feels the call of a lost child as sharply as the knife's edge that she uses to score her own skin. — Kirkus
Compelling...a solid choice for readers who enjoy Tana French's Dublin Murder Squad series. — Booklist
[A] thrilling launch of a new series... Works well as a solid police procedural and also an in-depth character study... Elsa maps out the darkness of a predator that preys on teenagers while navigating her own dark place. — Oline Cogdill, Associated Press
[A] riveting series launch... The tight plotting will keep readers turning the pages. — Publishers Weekly