Edward Kelsey Moore - The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473661967
    • Publication date:22 Jun 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473661981
    • Publication date:15 Jun 2017

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues

By Edward Kelsey Moore

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A heart-warming, uplifting novel from the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat.

A novel of friendship, family and forgiveness, from the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat, perfect for fans of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul.

When a late life love affair blooms between Mr. Forrest Payne, the owner of the Pink Slipper Gentleman's Club, and Miss Beatrice Jordan, famous for yelling warnings of eternal damnation at the Club's departing patrons, their wedding summons a legend to town. Mr El Walker, the great guitar bluesman, comes home to give a command performance in Plainview, Indiana, a place he'd sworn never to set foot in again.

Among those in this tightly knit community who show up every Sunday after church for lunch at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat are the lifelong friends known locally as The Supremes: Clarice, facing down her chance at and fear of a great career; Barbara Jean, grappling with the loss of a mother whose life humiliated both of them, and Odette, reaching toward her husband through an anger of his that she does not understand.

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues brings together a lively cast of characters in a heartwarming, life-affirming tale of small-town community and female friendship.

'A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human nature' Fannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

Biographical Notes

Edward Kelsey Moore is the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat, and lives in Chicago with his partner of many years. Having trained with some of the world's finest musicians, he has travelled widely and recorded extensively during his lengthy career as a professional cellist.

Edward's literary work often reflects both his life as a musician and his upbringing as the backsliding son of a Baptist preacher. His short fiction has appeared in several literary magazines and on Public Radio. Like Dora in The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat, Edward is also an avid gardener; like Odette, his horticultural projects are not always successful.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473661998
  • Publication date: 01 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human nature. — Fannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
There is no clue in the deliberately obscure title as to just how good this book is . . . An excellent and unpreachy chance to learn how the [civil rights] movement affected ordinary women. — Daily Mail on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT
This beautifully written debut novel is a delightful tribute to friendship, full of wit and warmth and with a quirky twist — Candis on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT
Hodder Paperbacks

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'The Queen of the Summer Novel' (People) The ultimate summertime reading for fans of Jane Green and Roisin Meaney.Nantucket is only two and a half hours away from Martha's Vineyard by ferry. But the two islands might as well be worlds apart for a set of identical twin sisters who have been at odds for years.Just because twins look exactly the same doesn't mean they're anything alike - and Tabitha and Harper Frost have spent their whole lives trying to prove this point. When a family crisis forces them to band together - or at least appear to - the twins come to realise that the special bond that they share is more important than the resentments that have driven them apart. A story of new loves, old battles, and a threat that gives a whole new meaning to the term sibling rivalry, The Identicals is Elin Hilderbrand at her page-turning best.

John Murray

Falling Short

Alexandra Coulton
Authors:
Alexandra Coulton

Pilgrim's father disappeared without trace when she was five.Now, her mother is slipping away, and she is starting to feel herself vanishing too.She needs to talk to somebody. Ideally, to Jackson: fellow teacher, confidante, dedicated hedonist, erstwhile best friend.Only they haven't spoken since what happened between them that night in the summer.And here she is, at thirty-bloody-nine, surrounded by school-girls, with their sugary perfume and flying pony-tails, breathless with money and freedom and the unmarked years ahead of them.And there is so much that is missing, so much that needs to be found . . .

Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan

When Samson Glaze - former wild-haired nomad, now head of a multi-million pound solar power corporation - turns up in Claudia Talwar's office in Manchester after fifteen years, she has to quash the impulse to jump into his arms. Unexpected father figure throughout her precarious childhood, he was the only friend she's ever known - only person she's ever loved. So when Samson asks her to help him find his son Reggie, Claudia agrees. But it turns out that Reggie has joined a group - a cult? - called Tarantula. And as Dia presses further into Tarantula's mazy interior, events take stranger and stranger turns, and it soon becomes clear that the web she finds herself in is being spun by sinister forces...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells

Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn
Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

What to expect when you're not expecting... Having been fiercely focused on her career, Olivia and her husband Felix have moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas on Nantucket

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley
Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

In the quaint seaside town of Newbay, a beginner's cookery course is starting. And three very different students have signed up . . . Liz's husband has left her for a twenty-something clean-eating blogger, and she's determined to show the world - and her daughter - she's just as capable in the kitchen. John, newly widowed after fifty years of marriage, can't live on sympathy lasagnes forever. To thirty-year-old workaholic Bella, the course is a welcome escape from her high-pressure job. Their only common ground: between them, they can barely boil an egg! Enter talented chef Alex, who is determined to introduce his pupils to the comforts of cuisine. As Liz, John and Bella encounter various disasters in the kitchen, the unlikely trio soon form a fast friendship. Their culinary skills might be catastrophic - but could the cookery club have given them a recipe for happiness?The wonderful new novel from Chrissie Manby is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Michael Stone was once a famous author. That was before he went to prison. Now, recently released, Michael needs a new beginning. Weighed down by failure and despair, the town of Silverbridge seems too offer him a quiet, rural escape from the past. Kind, gentle vicar John Wentworth takes Michael under his wing, and introduces him to his family and friends. At the vicarage, John's inexplicably discontented wife Daphne brings up their daughters. Bedridden Harriet, John's former nanny, deals impatiently with a world to which she cannot actively participate. At the family home, Belmaray, Aunt Maria is burdened by the worry of a failing estate. And at the grim little town school is fiery teacher Mary O'Hara, determined to foster change. A story of courage and community, set in the beautiful Devonshire countryside.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

'This poignant page-turner felt vividly real, making me cry and - ultimately - filling me with hope.' (Katie Marsh, author of My Everything) Perfect for fans of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell.Since their youngest son, Teddy, was diagnosed with a life-defining illness, Anna has been fighting: against the friends who don't know how to help; against the team assigned to Teddy's care who constantly watch over Anna's parenting; and against the impulse to put Teddy above all else - including his older brother, the watchful, sensitive Isaac.And now Anna can't seem to stop fighting against her husband, the one person who should be able to understand, but who somehow manages to carry on when Anna feels like she is suffocating under the weight of all the things that Teddy will never be able to do.As Anna helplessly pushes Tom away, he can't help but feel the absence of the simple familiarity that should come so easily, and must face the question: is it worse to stay in an unhappy marriage, or leave?

Sceptre

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré
Sceptre

Evening Primrose

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa

A powerful and timely novel from 'South Africa's Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie' (Bookseller) .'Heart-wrenching' Grazia .With urgency and tenderness Evening Primrose explores issues of race, gender and the medical profession through the eyes of a junior doctor.When Masechaba finally achieves her childhood dream of becoming a doctor, her ambition is tested as she faces the stark reality of South Africa's public healthcare system. As she leaves her deeply religious mother and makes friends with the politically-minded Nyasha, Masechaba's eyes are opened to the rising xenophobic tension that carries echoes of apartheid.Battling her inner demons, she must decide if she should take a stand to help her best friend, even it comes at a high personal cost.'The best kind of political novel, its turns of emotion are virtuosic. Matlwa's voice is one we need.' Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Harmless Like You'Slices straight to the heart, deft and clean' Laura Jane Williams, author of Becoming 'A daring and uniquely South African story' Marie Claire, South Africa on Coconut

Hodder Paperbacks

Acts of Love: a sizzling and sexy escapist romance perfect for summer

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley