Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues

A novel of friendship, family and forgiveness, from the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat, perfect for fans of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul.

When a late life love affair blooms between Mr. Forrest Payne and Miss Beatrice Jordan, their wedding summons a legend to town. Mr. El Walker, the great guitar bluesman, returns to Plainview, Indiana, to perform in a place he’d sworn–and for good reason–he’d never set foot in again.

But El is not the only Plainview native with a hurdle to overcome. Among those in this tightly knit community are the lifelong friends, known locally as “The Supremes”, each facing a challenge of their own — Clarice, facing down her chance at and fear of a great career; Barbara Jean, grappling with the loss of a mother whose life humiliated both of them, and Odette, reaching toward her husband through an anger of his that she does not understand.

Now, serenaded by El Walker’s bittersweet and unforgettable blues song, this group need not learn how to survive but how, fully, to live.

‘A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human natureFannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 15th June 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473661981

Reviews

A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human nature.
Fannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
There is no clue in the deliberately obscure title as to just how good this book is . . . An excellent and unpreachy chance to learn how the [civil rights] movement affected ordinary women.
Daily Mail on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT
This beautifully written debut novel is a delightful tribute to friendship, full of wit and warmth and with a quirky twist
Candis on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT