Dominick Donald - Breathe - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444780994
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444775563
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019

Breathe

By Dominick Donald

  • Hardback
  • £17.99

Like all great crime fiction, a brilliant combination of character, place and plot.

Already a veteran of two wars - in Europe and Korea - PC Richard Bourton has joined the Met later in life than most of his fellow trainees on the rough streets of Notting Dale, a grimy, unloved corner of West London. It is hard for him to fit in. Amongst the bomb-sites and boarding houses, Bourton stumbles on a man who has been beaten nearly to death. This discovery, in the swirly fog of 1952, will either make or break his nascent career.

Biographical Notes

Dominick Donald was brought up in Britain and the US before studying at Oxford University. Since then he has served in the British Army, been a tutor in Spain, taught creative writing in Japan, worked for the UN in New York, and earned a PhD from London University. He has written editorials for The Times and reviews for The Guardian and The TLS. He now leads geopolitical analysis for a London political risk consultancy.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444775532
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2019
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Age

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

***The explosive fifth novel in the Red Rising Series - more information coming soon***PRAISE FOR THE RED RISING SERIES:'Pierce Brown's empire-crushing debut is a sprawling vision . . . Ender, Katniss, and now Darrow' - Scott Sigler, New York Times bestselling author of Pandemic'[A] top-notch debut novel . . . Red Rising ascends above a crowded dystopian field' - USA Today'[A] spectacular adventure . . . one heart-pounding ride . . . Pierce Brown's dizzyingly good debut novel evokes The Hunger Games, Lord of the Flies, and Ender's Game. . . . [Red Rising] has everything it needs to become meteoric' - Entertainment Weekly

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Mulholland Books

The Pandora Equation

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle

The thrilling follow up to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, featuring Wiggins - an ex-soldier who was trained as a child by Sherlock Holmes. Praise for The Irregular 'H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Bond and Holmes' Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland'Impressive period detail and sharp dialogue add charm to the strong plot' Daily Mail'A thrilling story of espionage, murder and the creation of the Secret Service' Charles Cumming, author of A Colder WarNow an agent of the newly-formed Secret Service, Wiggins is still determined to track down Peter the Painter, the murderer of his friend Bill. Meanwhile Captain Kell is under pressure to identify who is leaking vital information from the government and his wife Constance is getting dangerously close to the more militant faction of suffragettes.When Wiggins traces one of the old Baker Street Irregulars gang to a mysterious club in Belgravia, the action follows thick and fast in another brilliantly compelling novel of betrayal and suspense.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Supposedly Happy Occasion

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Mulholland Books

Murder at the Grand Raj Palace

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan

In the enchanting new Baby Ganesh Agency novel, Inspector Chopra and his elephant sidekick investigate a murder at Mumbai's grandest hotel.For a century the iconic Grand Raj Palace Hotel has welcomed the world's elite. From film stars to foreign dignitaries, anyone who is anyone stays at the Grand Raj. The last thing the venerable old hotel needs is a murder...When American billionaire Hollis Burbank is found dead - the day after buying India's most expensive painting - the authorities are keen to label it a suicide. But the man in charge of the investigation is not so sure. Chopra is called in - and discovers a hotel full of people with a reason to want Burbank dead.Accompanied by his sidekick, baby elephant Ganesha, Chopra navigates his way through the palatial building, a journey that leads him steadily to a killer, and into the heart of darkness . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli. A local wealthy industrialist - fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew - has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim's last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home, Bordelli doesn't realise that it is this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bishop's Pawn

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Crime Novel

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ultimatum

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

The first thriller in The Guardian series by New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards, perfect for fans of Karen Rose and Sandra Brown.Bianca St. Ives is smart, talented and beautiful. She's also a high-end thief, a master manipulator and a genius of disguise.She makes a living swindling con men out of money they stole and returning it to the rightful owners. Her father taught her the family business well, and now the prodigy has surpassed the master.But in her latest disastrous mission, millions of dollars and top secret government documents went missing and her father was supposedly killed. But not everyone believes in his death, and the US government will stop at nothing to capture Richard St. Ives, even if it means using Bianca as bait. It's up to Bianca to uncover the terrifying truth behind what really happened . . . before it's too late.

Mulholland Books

Rusty Puppy

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Hap and Leonard investigate a racially motivated murder that threatens to tear apart their East Texas town.Hap, a former 60s activist and self-proclaimed white trash rebel, is recovering from a life-threatening stab wound. He's hoping to take it easy, but then Louise Elton arrives with a job... Months earlier, a bully cop pulled over and sexually harassed Louise's daughter, Charm. When he started stalking her, her brother Jamar tried to get evidence on him. The next thing Louise knew, Jamar got in a fight and was killed by local hoods. It doesn't add up: he was a straight-A student, destined for better things, until he began to ask too many questions about the racist police force. Leonard, a tough black gay Vietnam vet and Republican, joins Hap in the investigation, and they stumble upon the racial divides that have shaped their Eastern Texas town. But if anyone can navigate these pitfalls and bring the killers to justice, it's them.Filled with Lansdale's trademark snappy dialogue, colourful characters, and relentless pacing, Rusty Puppy is Joe Lansdale at his page-turning best.

Hodder & Stoughton

Darkness

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Butcher Bird

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

Book 2 in the gripping Oswald de Lacy series, , which can be read as a standalone, from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver)The Black Death killed his father and brothers , making Oswald de Lacy Lord of Somershill Manor. It also killed many of his villagers, leaving fewer people to do more work.So Oswald tries to use logic and patience to manage a struggling estate, a socially ambitious mother, an overbearing sister and a mutinous workforce.Then a baby is found impaled on a thorn bush and people say they have seen a huge creature in the skies. The Butcher Bird.And now there is no room for common sense, no time for patience. If Oswald is to survive, he must find the truth behind a series of ever more brutal events.From the plague-ruined villages of Kent to the luxurious bedchambers of London, it is a journey full of danger, darkness and shocking revelations.'The whodunnit aspect is neatly done, the family secrets and waspish relationships are intriguing, and humour and originality are abundant' Daily Mail

Mulholland Books

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan