Malcolm Macdonald - Dancing On Snowflakes - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Dancing On Snowflakes

By Malcolm Macdonald

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A wonderful coming of age novel about a young woman's search for independence at the end of the Victorian era, from the bestselling author of the Stevenson saga

'A natural successor to the late Ronald Delderfield' Yorkshire Post

Chaperoned at every turn in her Dublin home, Kate O'Barry's horizons have been limited. When her exasperated parents pack her off to her uncle's house in Stockholm hoping that her infatuation with an unsuitable young man will pass, they have no idea what mischief their decision will cause.

Kate sets out to experience life on her own terms, from the fairytale castle of Valholm, hereditary seat the dashing Count Hamilton, to the wretched tenements of the poor. Along the way she learns important lessons - about independence, responsibility and love.

Biographical Notes

Bestselling author Malcolm Macdonald was born in Gloucestershire in 1932. After thirteen years as a non-fiction writer he turned to the richly-documented and compulsive historical novels for which he has been named the 'natural successor to the late Ronald Delderfield'. He lives with his wife in Ireland. For more information, visit www.malcolmmacdonald.org.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444752601
  • Publication date: 10 Oct 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Kydd 21

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled: Empire X

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

Marcus Aquila, the hero of the series' first nine titles, returns to Commodus's dangerous city of Rome with his fellow soldiers.Although they are victorious, revenge is heavy in their hearts.

Sceptre

Varina

Charles Frazier
Authors:
Charles Frazier

The new novel from the number one bestselling author of Cold Mountain - a stunning portrait of the devastation left by the American Civil War, as seen through the eyes of a woman who played a part at the heart of it.With her marriage prospects ruined in the wake of her father's financial decline, teenage Varina Howell decides her best option is to wed the much-older widower Jefferson Davis, with whom she expects a life of security as a Mississippi landowner. When he instead pursues a career in politics and is appointed President of the Confederacy, it puts Varina at the white-hot centre of one of the darkest moments in American history - culpable regardless of her intentions.As the Confederacy prepares to surrender and she finds herself friendless and alone, Varina and her children escape Richmond. With her marriage in tatters and the country divided, they travel south, now fugitives with 'bounties on their heads, an entire nation in pursuit'.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft. On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together...In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a new country, struggling to save her baby after her husband dies. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery. When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.

Hodder & Stoughton

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke
Hodder & Stoughton

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

Hodder Paperbacks

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire series reaches the action-filled climax of his epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69.Victory is in sight for Kivilaz and his Batavi army. The Roman army clings desperately to its remaining fortresses along the Rhine, its legions riven by dissent and mutiny, and once-loyal allies of Rome are beginning to imagine the unimaginable: freedom from the rulers who have dominated them since the time of Caesar. The four centurions - two Batavi and two Roman, men who were once comrades in arms - must find their destiny in a maze of loyalties and threats, as the blood tide of war ebbs and flows across Germania and Gaul. For Rome does not give up its territory lightly. And a new emperor knows that he cannot tolerate any threat to his undisputed power. It can only be a matter of time before Vespasian sends his legions north to exact the empire's retribution.

Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, DC, he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer - an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except his best friend, Meredith - the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally finds out, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding towards a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed. Speak No Evil is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

JM Originals

A Kind of Freedom

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Authors:
Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

1808. Parted from his new bride, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is called away to join the Northern Expedition to Sweden, now Britain's only ally in the Baltic. Following the sudden declaration of war by Russia and with the consequent threat of the czar's great fleet in St Petersburg, the expedition must defend Britain's dearly-won freedom in those waters. However Kydd finds his popular fame as a frigate captain is a poisoned chalice; in the face of jealousy and envy from his fellow captains, the distrust of the commander-in-chief and the betrayal of friendship by a former brother-in-arms now made his subordinate, can he redeem his reputation?In an entirely hostile sea Tyger ranges from the frozen north to the deadly confines of the Danish Sound - and plays a pivotal role in the situation ensuing after the czar's sudden attack on Finland. This climaxes in the first clash of fleets between Great Britain and Russia in history. To the victor will be the prize of the Baltic!******************PRAISE FOR JULIAN STOCKWIN'S THOMAS KYDD SERIES'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' Daily Express'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail' Nautical Magazine on VICTORY'Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book' Historical Naval Society on THE ADMIRAL'S DAUGHTER

Hodder Paperbacks

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs
Authors:
Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair.THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWar will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . .Born a bastard and raised an orphan in the stifling heat of the Caribbean, Alexander Hamilton must prove his worth on the bloody battlefields of the American Revolution. A wealthy child of privilege, Elizabeth Schuyler has never wanted for anything, yet she longs for a life of so much more. When fate brings them together, a passionate, life-long love affair begins. But to Alexander, burdened by his tragic origins, matters of honour can never be forgotten. As he risks everything for the future of his bold new country, this extraordinary marriage will be tested like no other - and become forever immortalised in hearts and minds.Praise for THE HAMILTON AFFAIR:'The Hamilton novel that immediately leaps to the top of the list' Joseph J. Ellis 'A portrait of a love so deep it was able to survive betrayal and a devastatingly public scandal' Booklist'Cobbs' depiction of Hamilton will endear him in the hearts of readers' Publishers Weekly

Hodder & Stoughton

There Was a Time

Frank White
Authors:
Frank White

From an author who lived through - and served in - the conflict, a brilliant novel set in an English village at a turning point of the Second World War.'A wonderful read, packed with incident, colour and detail' TelegraphA Lincolnshire village on a glorious summer's morning in 1940, the countryside as still as a painting. In the blue sky above, the fate of the whole war will soon rest with the RAF and their desperate effort to win the Battle of Britain. If they fail, Hitler's next step will be invasion.And as the scene comes to life before us over the next six months, this shadow of war will not disappear - the conflict will take husbands and sons away, bring in evacuees from the city and soldiers to defend the coast. There will be more money from war work, but less to spend it on - legitimately at least. Everywhere, the feeling of change is in the air.From the pub to the church, the humblest cottage to the biggest farm, from a struggling single mother to the lady of the manor, the paper boy to a traumatised bomb disposal volunteer, this superb jewel of a novel portrays a community of people and weaves together their stories with passion, betrayal, intrigue and suspense.There Was a Time is a triumph of the storyteller's art.

Hodder & Stoughton

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Hodder Paperbacks

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle