Martin Davies - Havana Sleeping - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340980477
    • Publication date:26 Mar 2015

Havana Sleeping

By Martin Davies

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Shortlisted for the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger, HAVANA SLEEPING is the story of a British diplomat posted to Cuba in the 1850s who is confronted with murder, slavery and intrigue.

Havana in the 1850s is a city as dangerous as it is exotic. The murder of a humble night watchman at the British Consulate seems to worry neither the Consul nor the police.

But one person cared for the old man. The enigmatic courtesan Leonarda will not rest until she understands the mystery of his death.

In wintry England, George Backhouse is plucked from obscurity in the Foreign Office and given an unexpected promotion. His task: to travel to Cuba and take a stand against the illegal slave trade still flourishing there.

But Havana is a tinderbox of intrigue. As the great powers of the region conspire against each other with increasing ruthlessness for control of the island, Backhouse comes to see that the most innocent of actions could spark a devastating war.

To protect their interests, the powers-that-be in Whitehall are prepared to turn a blind eye to many things. Leonarda will not.

But what of George Backhouse?

Biographical Notes

Martin Davies grew up in North West England. All his writing is done in cafes, on buses or on tube trains, and an aversion to laptops means that he always works in longhand. He has travelled widely, including in the Middle East and India, and works as a consultant in the broadcasting industry.

Translation rights in Martin's books have now been sold in Germany, Sweden, Poland, France, Italy, Portugal, Greece, Korea, Russia, Serbia, Turkey and Holland.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444708387
  • Publication date: 11 Sep 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
As Martin builds his usual high standard of atmosphere, we travel from fascination to fear . . . HAVANA SLEEPING is totally unforgettable. — The Bookbag
A compelling and highly readable narrative . . . Davies proves to be a master of the evocative. — We Love This Book on THE YEAR AFTER
The storytelling is masterly. — Independent on Sunday on THE UNICORN ROAD
So readable and enjoyable and multilayered. — Boyd Hilton, Radio Five Live on THE UNICORN ROAD
A beautifully evoked narrative from the past. — Guardian on THE CONJUROR'S BIRD
A pacy confection of history, mystery and romance . . . a most engaging and unusual novel. — The Times on THE CONJUROR'S BIRD
Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

'Funny, bittersweet and touching. Will resonate with anyone who is "trying"' - MARIAN KEYES'Funny and warm and brilliant' - LUCY VINE'A deeply moving and raw story, told with great humour' - LOUISE O'NEILL*********A hugely funny, searingly honest comedy about to expect when you're not expecting.Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. They even moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

Hodder & Stoughton

Broken Things

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver

The stunning new standalone novel from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver.

John Murray

Untitled Novel 1

John Simpson
Authors:
John Simpson
Hodder & Stoughton

Kydd 21

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: The Iberian Flame will be the twentieth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Sceptre

Before Everything

Victoria Redel
Authors:
Victoria Redel

Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

Private investigator Flavia Albia is always drawn to an intriguing puzzle - even if it is put to her by her new husband's hostile ex-wife. On the Quirinal Hill, a young girl named Clodia has died, apparently poisoned with a love potion. Only one person could have supplied such a thing: a local witch who goes by the name of Pandora, whose trade in herbal beauty products is hiding something far more sinister. The supposedly sweet air of the Quirinal is masking the stench of loose morality, casual betrayal and even gangland conflict and, when a friend of her own is murdered, Albia determines to expose as much of this local sickness as she can - beginning with the truth about Clodia's death. ****************Praise for Lindsey Davis and the Flavia Albia series 'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' The Times on Sunday 'Davis's books crackle with wit and knowledge . . . She has the happy knack of making the reader feel entirely immersed in Rome' The Times 'Always clever and witty with some sparkling dialogue and genuinely comic moments . . . set against a totally believable and colourful background, and rattles along at breakneck pace to a spectacular climax' Crime Review

Sceptre

In Every Moment We Are Still Alive

Tom Malmquist
Authors:
Tom Malmquist
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall

'Prods at the dark underbelly of society.' Red Best Summer Beach ReadsA Prima Best Summer Read'Compelling story characters readers will recognize and come to love and writing that makes it effortless to turn page after page.' Vancouver SunTHE BEST KIND OF PEOPLE is a page-turning Canadian bestseller about a family on the brink of collapse. It gives no easy answers, but once you stay up all night reading it, you'll want to talk about it with everyone you know.What if someone you trusted was accused of the unthinkable?George Woodbury is a teacher at a prestigious Connecticut private school. He is voted Teacher of the Year every year, after he rescued the school from a gunman attack. On his daughter's 17th birthday this beloved husband and father, is arrested for sexual impropriety with teenage girls on a skiing trip. His wife, Joan, vaults between denial and rage as the community she loved turns on her. Their daughter, Sadie, a popular over-achieving high school senior, becomes a social pariah. Their son, Andrew, a lawyer, assists in his father's defense, while wrestling with his own unhappy memories of his teen years coming out as gay. With George awaiting trial, how do the members of his family pick up the pieces and keep living their lives? How do they defend someone they love while wrestling with the possibility of his guilt?'Whittall places the reader right at the centre of their pain. It's the best depiction of female suffering I've read since Jane Smiley eloquently tackled sexual abuse in A Thousand Acres.' Toronto StarTHE BEST KIND OF PEOPLE is a portrait of a family on the brink of collapse. It gives no easy answers, but once you stay up all night reading it, you'll want to talk about it with everyone you know.

John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Mulholland Books

Her Beautiful Monster

Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh
Hodder Paperbacks

Here We Are Now

Jasmine Warga
Authors:
Jasmine Warga

'Funny and heartfelt... fans of Sarah Dessen or Rainbow Rowell will adore this novel' - Culturefly 'Fans of High Fidelity and Nick + Nora, get your hands on this book ASAP' - PopsugarDespite sending him letters ever since she was thirteen, Taliah Abdallat never thought she'd ever really meet Julian Oliver. But one day, while her mother is out of the country, the famed rock star from Staring Into the Abyss shows up on her doorstep. This makes sense - kinda - because it turns out Julian Oliver is Taliah's father... When Julian asks her to go with him to his hometown to meet the family she has never known, Taliah embarks on a three-day voyage of discovery - of her father, of the past her mother has never shared with her, and of herself.From the bestselling author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES, this is a beautiful and heartwarming novel of music, family, and friendship.

Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

*A Richard & Judy Book Club Pick 2017 - 'One of the most charming novels either of us has read. Don't lose it. Keep it' Richard & Judy**The perfect holiday read, recommended by thousands of readers**One of the Mail on Sunday's 'Best books for the beach this summer'*Meet the 'Keeper of Lost Things'...Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before.Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners.But the final wishes of the 'Keeper of Lost Things' have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters...'The first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily MailAnd if you loved The Keeper of Lost Things, don't miss Ruth Hogan's second novel The Particular Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes, now available for pre-order

Hodder & Stoughton

Bertie's Gift: the perfect feel-good read!

Hannah Coates
Authors:
Hannah Coates
Hodder & Stoughton

Icarus

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer

After 602 days dry, Captain Benny Griessel of the South African police services can't take any more tragedy. So when Benny is called in to investigate a multiple homicide, it pushes him close to breaking point - a former friend and detective colleague has shot his wife and two daughters, then killed himself. Benny wants out - out of his job, his home and his relationship with his singer girlfriend, Alexa. He moves into a hotel and starts drinking. Again.But Benny's unique talent is urgently required to help investigate another crime - the high profile murder of Ernst Richter, MD of a new tech startup, Alibi, whose body is discovered buried in the sand dunes north of Cape Town. Alibi is a service that creates false appointments, documents and phone calls to enable people to cheat on their partners. It has made Richter one of the most notorious people in South Africa. Can Benny pull together the strands of his life in time to catch the killer?

John Murray

Beasts of No Nation

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala
Hodder & Stoughton

Brush Back

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder & Stoughton

Afraid

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
Hodder & Stoughton

Cobra

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer