Stephen Leather - Soft Target - Hodder & Stoughton

Soft Target

The 2nd Spider Shepherd Thriller

By Stephen Leather

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The second hard-hitting action thriller featuring undercover policeman Dan 'Spider' Shepherd.

The second book in the bestselling Dan 'Spider' Shepherd series.

There's only one thing more dangerous than a corrupt cop . . . and that's a corrupt cop with a gun.

When a group of armed police in an elite unit turn maverick and start to rip off drug dealers at gunpoint, undercover cop Dan 'Spider' Shepherd is given his most dangerous mission so far.

Shepherd is ordered to infiltrate the tight-knit team, to gain their confidence and to ultimately betray them.

Facing men with guns is nothing new for the former SAS trooper, but it's the first time he's had to investigate his own. And the job couldn't have come at a worse time for him.

As Shepherd finds himself in the firing line, he has to decide exactly where his loyalties lie.

Biographical Notes

Stephen Leather is one of the UK's most successful thriller writers, an ebook and Sunday Times bestseller and author of the critically acclaimed Dan 'Spider' Shepherd series and the Jack Nightingale supernatural detective novels. Before becoming a novelist he was a journalist for more than ten years on newspapers such as The Times, the Daily Mirror, the Glasgow Herald, the Daily Mail and the South China Morning Post in Hong Kong. He is one of the country's most successful ebook authors and his titles have topped the Amazon Kindle charts in the UK and the US. His bestsellers have been translated into fifteen languages and he has also written for television.

You can learn more from Stephen's website, www.stephenleather.com, find him on Facebook, and follow him on Twitter at twitter.com/stephenleather.

Stephen also has a website for his Spider Shepherd series, www.danspidershepherd.com, and for his Jack Nightingale series, www.jacknightingale.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340834091
  • Publication date: 15 Aug 2005
  • Page count: 528
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Stephen Leather is old-fashioned thriller writer and his books have that indefinable quality that keeps you turning the page. — The Mail on Sunday
A master of the thriller genre. — Irish Times
High-adrenaline plotting. — Sunday Express
Hodder & Stoughton

The Runner

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Coronet

A Soldier's History of the SAS

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Institute

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Miracle Creek

Angie Kim
Authors:
Angie Kim
Hodder & Stoughton

Short Range

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Mulholland Books

The Starter Wife

Nina Laurin
Authors:
Nina Laurin
Mulholland Books

Girls Like Us

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger

'GIRLS LIKE US is the best of psychological suspense: nuanced, expertly fast-paced, and full of surprises you truly don't see coming. Cristina Alger is my kind of writer - as graceful on the page as she is gritty' HARLAN COBENFBI Agent Nell Flynn hasn't been home in ten years. Nell and her father, Homicide Detective Martin Flynn, have never had much of a relationship. And Suffolk County will always be awash in memories of her mother, who was brutally murdered when Nell was just seven. When Martin Flynn dies in a motorcycle accident, Nell returns to the house she grew up in so that she can spread her father's ashes and close his estate. At the behest of her father's partner, Detective Lee Davis, Nell becomes involved in an investigation into the murders of two young Latina women in Suffolk County. The further Nell digs, the more likely it seems to her that her father should be the prime suspect - and that his friends on the police force are covering his tracks.Plagued by doubts about her mother's murder - and her own role in exonerating her father in that case - Nell can't help but ask questions about who killed Ria Ruiz and Adriana Marques and why. But she may not like the answers she finds - not just about those she loves, but about herself.

Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Hodder Paperbacks

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Last Man Standing

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Muse of Nightmares

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Coronet

Head Hunters

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

The attack dog had its jaws clamped round the target's forearm and had sunk its teeth into his flesh. Danny could see the dark stain of blood through his night-vision goggles. The screaming had stopped. The target was staring blindly into the darkness, but he clearly knew there were armed men approaching him...Helmand Province, Afghanistan. The Taliban are on the rise.A top-secret SAS kill team is assassinating high-value targets. It is bloody, violent, relentless work, suitable only for the Regiment's most skilled and ruthless head hunters.Like Danny Black.But when Danny joins the kill team, he learns that Taliban militants are not his only problem. There are elements within the British Army who want to bring the SAS to book. And there are elements within the SAS who have their crosshairs on Danny himself.Framed for a sickening war crime, Danny finds himself hunted in a brutal, dangerous terrain where his wits, training and strength may not be enough to survive. And in a world where his enemies are closer than he could have imagined, he must do whatever it takes to get to the truth. If he fails, it will mean the end not only of Danny Black, but of the SAS itself.

Hodder & Stoughton

Nightblood

Elly Blake
Authors:
Elly Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Mulholland Books

Murder at the Grand Raj Palace

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Teach Yourself

The Survival Manual

Jason Polley
Authors:
Jason Polley

Every year, more than 40,000 people climb Mount Kilimanjaro and millions head for the great outdoors every weekend. If you are one of them, would you know what to do if you got stranded or hurt?THE SURVIVAL MANUAL gives essential, practical advice for handling situations that weren't part of the plan and can quickly escalate. It starts with ten life-saving tips then outlines the crucial components for staying alive, starting with water, food and shelter. Covering every possible scenario, from basic survival skills to advanced insight into surviving in hostile conditions, this is the ultimate survival guide for anyone who spends any time outdoors.

Mulholland Books

Jackrabbit Smile

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Meet Hap and Leonard, the unlikely detective duo now on screen in the highly praised series starring James Purefoy, Michael K. Williams and Christina Hendricks.'Reading Joe R. Lansdale is like listening to a favorite uncle who just happens to be a fabulous storyteller' Dean KoontzHap and Leonard are an unlikely pair - Hap, a self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard, a tough-as-nails black gay Vietnam vet and Republican - but they're the closest friend either of them has in the world. Hap is celebrating his wedding to his longtime girlfriend, when their backyard barbecue is interrupted by a couple of Pentecostal white supremacists. They're not too happy to see Leonard, and no one is happy to see them, but they have a problem and they want Hap and Leonard to solve it.Judith Mulhaney's daughter, Jackrabbit, has been missing for five years. That is, she's been missing from her family for five years, but she's been missing from everybody, including the local no-goods they knew ran with her, for a few months. Despite their misgivings, Hap and Leonard take the case. It isn't long until they find themselves mixed up in a revivalist cult believing that Jesus will return flanked by an army of lizard-men, and solving a murder to boot. With Lansdale's trademark humour, sharp dialogue, and plenty of righteous beatdowns, you won't want to miss Hap and Leonard's latest.

Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

'A thoroughly excellent debut. Dark and brutal in places with a shocker of an ending!!!' bestselling author Katerina Diamond'Twisty, fast-paced, shocking. EXCELLENT.' Will Dean, author of Dark PinesWhat if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger?Nuala and James had the perfect relationship. They were young and in love, and so Nuala didn't question why James told her to never contact his family or to visit the small Somerset town he was from. But now James is dead, and Nuala needs to know what he was keeping from her all of those years. Nuala is on her way to a town full of her husbands secrets. And she is about to discover that sometimes secrets are better left buried.*****Never Go There is a gripping psychological thriller with a shock-twist ending, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter's Close to Home, Laura Marshall's Friend Request, Fiona Barton's The Child and Lisa Jewell's Then She Was Gone.*****What authors are saying about Never Go There:'OMG. Dark and suspenseful with brilliant characters, this book sucked me in and wouldn't let go. I loved it.' Patricia Gibney, bestselling author of The Missing Ones'Edge-of-the-seat reading.' Liz Lawler, author of Don't Wake Up'Mesmerising' Sarah J. Naughton, Tattletale'Kept me reading late into the night.' Elisabeth Carpenter, 99 Red Balloons'This is a very clever debut.' Susi Holliday, The Deaths of December'Absorbing from start to finish.' Amanda Robson, Obsession

Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

He hunts. He kills. He burnsVicky Lewis is a force to be reckoned with: not yet thirty and already crew manager in the London Fire Brigade, she's destined for great things.But when she enters a burning building to save a man's life and leaves it with catastrophic injuries, all that changes. She's shunted over to the Fire Investigation Unit, where she's forced to team up with cantankerous veteran Des Farmer, aka the Grouch.When Vicky stumbles across the Grouch's off-the-books investigation into the fiery deaths of a series of young, blonde women, she decides to join him in his search for the truth. The answer is close - perhaps too close. Vicky's already been burnt once, and now she's playing with fire . . .************PRAISE FOR STEPHEN LEATHER'A master of the thriller genre'Irish Times'As tough as British thrillers get . . . gripping' Irish Independent 'The sheer impetus of his story-telling is damned hard to resist'Sunday Express