We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Last Line

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781399721257

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 16th November 2023

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Thrilling WWII set thriller that has heart-pounding action, but more importantly, a lot of heart… Completely gripping… A narrative that is as taut as piano wire! …Not to be missed if you enjoy action-packed historical thrillers’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

May 1940: With Nazi forces sweeping across France, invasion seems imminent. The English Channel has never felt so narrow.

In rural Sussex, war veteran John Cook has been tasked with preparing the resistance effort, should the worst happen.

But even as the foreign threat looms, it’s rumours of a missing child that are troubling Cook. A twelve-year-old girl was evacuated from London and never seen again, and she’s just the tip of the iceberg – countless evacuees haven’t made it to their host families.

As Cook investigates, he uncovers a dark conspiracy that reaches to the highest ranks of society. He will do whatever it takes to make the culprits pay. There are some lines you just don’t cross.

A completely gripping and unputdownable WWII thriller, perfect for fans of Rory Clements, Simon Scarrow and Kate Quinn.

Everyone is gripped by The Last Line:


My God, this was great. It left me with a book hangover. I felt like I was there in 1940s England… I learned so much from this book… The writing is really 3D. You really feel like you’re there. It’s very immersive, and I love the witty humour. John Cook is a wonderful character‘ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I felt like I was right in the action, helping to solve the murder and kidnapping… So full of action, suspense and thrills that it became a quick read and also an enjoyable one. The gunfight had me on the edge of my seat at times, it was suspenseful, you couldn’t tell who was going to make it out alive’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


What a fantastic read! Set during WWII, packed with action, history and wonderful characters, this is a must read for historical thriller enthusiasts but for those that like a good thriller as well!’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘One of the most unputdownable books I have read this year!… Fast paced mystery/thriller which caught me up in the narrativeI just didn’t want to put this down!‘ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

John Cook is the Jack Reacher of 1940’s Britain‘ Damien Lewis

‘Breathtakingly tense action scenes and taut, intricately plotted storyline… A gripping, vividly atmospheric historical thriller‘ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Packed with action, superb characters and a real feel for the time and place for the setting… everything you would want from an intelligent war-time thriller’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A brilliant noir thriller set in the darkest days of the Second World War‘ Stephen Leather

‘This is an absolute ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ read, great characters, great plot, gripping from start to finishOnce you start this you won’t be able to stop‘ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

A brilliant noir thriller set in the darkest days of the Second World War
Stephen Leather
Ronson delivers a cracking yarn, convincingly told. John Cook is the Jack Reacher of 1940s Britain
Damien Lewis, author of THE MINISTRY OF UNGENTLEMANLY WARFARE
A vivid sense of place with tension on every level, The Last Line dripped with historical detail and authenticity. I absolutely loved it
Marion Todd, author of SEE THEM RUN
A tough, taut wartime thriller that reads like a cross between Alastair MacLean and Lee Child and atmospherically conjures up the spectre of war, the threat of Nazi invasion and other evils uncomfortably close to home. Dad's Army, it ain't!
Robbie Morrison
Thrilling and intriguing in equal measure. Like Jack Reacher on the Home Front in WWII
Mason Cross
The pace is quick and the action keeps coming. With well-chosen prose, the author gives the reader a snapshot of English countryside during wartime, with victory gardens, makeshift landing strips in farmers' fields and railway platforms full of evacuated children. It was a page-turner and I couldn't get enough
SaltyGalReads
Addictively readable
Irish Independent