Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Other Half Lives

The Other Half Lives

The fourth psychological suspense novel from the phenomenal, bestselling Sophie Hannah. A must-read for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.

‘Utterly gripping’ The Times
‘Thrilling’ Sunday Telegraph

Why would anyone confess to a murder that never happened?

Ruth Bussey knows what it means to be in the wrong and to be wronged. She once did something she regrets, and her punishment nearly destroyed her. Now Ruth is rebuilding her life, and has found a love she doesn’t believe she deserves: Aidan Seed.

Aidan is also troubled by a past he hates to talk about, until one day he decides he must confide in Ruth. He tells her that years ago he killed someone: a woman called Mary Trelease.

Ruth is confused. She’s certain she’s heard the name before, and when she realises why it sounds familiar, her fear and confusion deepen – because the Mary Trelease that Ruth knows is very much alive . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 23rd July 2009

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781848942462

Reviews

The pages keep turning . . . The firm grip of suspense will hold you fast until the thrilling ending
Sunday Telegraph
A real chiller; the clever plot will keep you hooked and guessing to the end
Choice
Sophie Hannah is the new British queen of the psychological thriller
Heat
This is a monster book in every sense. It is both a chunky psychological thriller and a testamony to the legacy of depravity . . . The trademark neuroses that afflict many of Sophie Hannah's characters lead to multiple twists in the plot, while her brilliantly acerbic dialogue lightens this clever but complicated tale
Waterstones' Books Quarterly
A masterclass in plotting, with twist after twist
Sunday Times
A complex, unnerving study of relationships . . . Her exemplary skills put Hannah right up there with Ruth Rendell
Kirkus Reviews
An intricate and sinister suspense novel
Woman & Home
Sophie Hannah has become the master, or mistress, of suspense. This one's even better than her others. Each moment is so purely enjoyable. Her genius is that she creates these very real characters - absolutely incredible. She's at the very peak of crime fiction at the moment
Simon Mayo Book Programme, Radio Five
This utterly gripping thriller should establish her as one of the great unmissables of this genre
The Times
Beautifully written and absorbingly chilling, this is a tale that steadily builds in tension, throwing up twists and turns that keep you guessing right up until the very end
SHE
It's a difficult tightrope to walk but Hannah does it triumphantly, maintaining the tension until the very end
Val McDermid, The Times
This book is long but never tedious, and, as with the finest examples of the genre, Hannah refuses to allow the reader any hope of predicting how it will all end until she decides to put the final piece of the jigsaw in place
Daily Express
Beautifully written and precision-engineered to unsettle
Guardian