We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

WAKE

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781529394696

Price: £14.99

ON SALE: 9th June 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Incredible! A vividly told mystery, perfect for fans of Jane Harper’ ALLIE REYNOLDS, AUTHOR OF SHIVER

‘A triumphant debut’
ROSE CARLYLE

Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent’ CHRIS HAMMER

EVERYBODY THINKS THEY KNOW MINA McCREERY.

EVERYONE HAS A THEORY ON WHAT HAPPENED TO HER SISTER.
NOW IT’S TIME TO FIND OUT THE TRUTH…

Mina McCreery’s sister Evelyn disappeared nineteen years ago. Her life has been defined by the intense public interest in the case. Now an anxious and reclusive adult, she lives alone on her family’s destocked sheep farm.

When Lane, a private investigator, approaches her with an offer to reinvestigate the case, she rejects him. The attention has had nothing but negative consequences for her and her family, and never brought them closer to an answer.

Lane wins her trust when his unconventional methods show promise, but he has his own motivations for wanting to solve the case, and his obsession with the answer will ultimately risk both their lives.

Superbly written, taut and compassionate, Wake looks at what can happen when people’s private tragedies become public property, and the ripples of trauma that follow violent crimes. Wake won the CWA Debut Dagger in 2019.

Reviews

Incredible! A vividly told mystery, perfect for fans of Jane Harper
Allie Reynolds, author of SHIVER
A triumphant debut
Rose Carlyle
Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent
Chris Hammer
Atmospheric, tense, poignant - the most gripping cold case investigation I've read in a long time. SUPERB
Will Dean