Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Women of the Dunes

Women of the Dunes

The new novel from the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2018!

‘Sarah Maine is a master of Scottish historical fiction’ Sunday Post

****

On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together…

In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house’s lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby – an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery.

When a body is excavated from Ullaness – the body of someone who was murdered long ago – the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.

Women of the Dunes is the new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft.

(P) Soundings, 2019
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 28th August 2019

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781529362510

Reviews

Maine adroitly weaves together the three strands of her novel
Sunday Times
Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut...[a] beautifully crafted novel.
Publishers Weekly
Sarah Maine is a master of Scottish historical fiction
Sunday Post
Descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes frame Maine's riveting portrait of a thoughtful young woman who yearns for more than is offered by her station and her gender, and the rough-and-tumble young man who is inexorably drawn to her.
Publishers Weekly
Maine's gift of setting the mood shines in her latest novel... Fans of Kate Morton's rich-with-atmosphere novels will feel right at home.
RT Reviews
Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness
The Times
In Women of the Dunes, her two passions - archaeology and historic fiction - merge powerfully to create the atmospheric world of Libby Snow
Sunday Post
Praise for Beyond The Wild River
:
Maine contrasts Hetty's present-day consternation with the past story of Blake and his wife, delivering details at a perfectly suspenseful pace... the historic mystery will keep readers guessing right up until the end.
Booklist
Praise for The House Between Tides
:
A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born!
Ronald Frame, author of <i>The Lantern Bearers and Havisham</i>
...it came as a great surprise to learn that this was the author's debut novel. I predict great things for Sarah Maine.
The Book Bag
Maine's beautifully detailed descriptions of the American hinterlands provide a stunning setting for this historical tale of intrigue and suspense
Booklist
There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's <i>Rebecca</i> in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel
Independent
Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...The setting emerges as the strongest personality in this compelling story, evoking passion in the characters as fierce as the storms which always lurk on the horizon. A debut historical thriller which deftly blends classic suspense with modern themes.
Kirkus Reviews