Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Girls She Left Behind

The Girls She Left Behind

For Lizzie Snow, the ice and snow of her first punishing North Woods winter are dreadful enough. But near the small town of Bearkill a stubborn forest fire now rages out of control, and as embers swirl dangerously in the smoke-filled air, a teenage girl with a history of running away has dropped out of sight again. The locals and the law both think Tara Wylie is up to her old tricks-until her mother receives a terrifying text message.

Equally disturbing: Henry Gemerle-a kidnapper and rapist who once held three girls prisoner for fifteen years-has escaped, and may be lurking in Bearkill. As the fire closes in, Lizzie teams up with her boss, Sheriff Cody Chevrier, and state cop Dylan Hudson to search for the missing girl and the wily fugitive. But they’re blocked by Tara’s mother, a frustrating teller of needless lies and keeper of dark, incomprehensible secrets.

Following a trail of grisly clues-a bloodstained motel room, a makeshift coffin in a shallow grave-Lizzie is drawn ever closer to the flames in her race to save an innocent and corner a monster. Someone else also wants to find Tara Wylie and Henry Gemerle, though, for reasons that have nothing to do with mercy or justice. And when they all meet, the inferno threatening Bearkill will pale in comparison to the hell that’s about to break loose.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 14th January 2016

Price: £5.99

ISBN-13: 9781473605619

Reviews

Fast, dangerous and fun - an extraordinarily entertaining read.
Linda Castillo
A superbly suspenseful mystery with likable tough cop Lizzie and a town full of character
Library Journal
Readers who enjoy Linda Castillo and Lisa Gardner will welcome Lizzie, a strong, motivated woman making her way in the frozen north.
Booklist
An excellent, thrilling introduction to Lizzie Snow and the town of Bearkill. With a fascinating protagonist in a richly-rendered setting, this book's biggest issue is the fact that readers will have to wait for the next installment. It's another first-rate offering from Sarah Graves
Maine Edge
A fast-paced mystery full of surprises that will leave readers stunned and fulfilled
Romantic Times
Praise for WINTER AT THE DOOR
.
An action-packed psychological thriller... a must read
RT Magazine