Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Bone Fire

The Bone Fire

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.

1361.
Plague has returned to England – thirteen years after the devastation of The Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes – where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster.

The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed.

And then a murderer strikes.


Oswald is confronted with a stark choice – leave and face the ravages of the plague, or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest, or servant – everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 25th July 2019

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781473680012

Reviews

Chilling and evocative. This book will have you gripped from the first page to the last
Tracy Borman
The medieval CJ Sansom
Jeffery Deaver
The whodunnit aspect is neatly done, the family secrets and waspish relationships are intriguing, and humour and originality are abundant.
Daily Mail
An intriguing and vivid addition to an increasingly interesting series, and a fascinating glimpse of an almost forgotten period of history.
Andrew Taylor
Sykes is a master at combining historical setting with mystery
The Times
Praise for S D Sykes
-