We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Holy Spy

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781848548527

Price: £14.99

ON SALE: 26th February 2015

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, HOLY SPY features the Queen’s Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements’ acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, ‘does for Elizabeth’s reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII’s’ Sunday Times

In London’s smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth, free Mary Queen of Scots – and open England to Spanish invasion. But the conspirators have been infiltrated by Sir Francis Walsingham’s top intelligencer, John Shakespeare.

Shakespeare, however, is torn: the woman he loves stands accused of murder. In a desperate race against time he must save her from the noose and the realm from treachery. And then it dawns that both investigations are inextricably linked – by corruption very close to the seat of power . . .

(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Reviews

I didn't know what to expect from this - HOLY SPY is the first novel I've read in a well-established series. But what I got was a thoroughly entertaining, disturbing and involving mystery that I found next to impossible to put down. It's a substantial book but I was driven to read it over just 24 hours. Rory Clements is a wonderful writer who clearly knows Tudor England inside out and his enthusiasm - as well as concerns - for the period shine out. I loved it. I will be catching up.
For Winter Nights
Holy Spy lures us into dark passages peopled by ranting fanatics, sensuous whores, treacherous turncoats, vicious thugs and subtle codebreakers.Skilfully blending real events and historical figures with believable fiction and colourful invented characters . . .
Daily Mail
Elizabethan England comes vividly to life in this fast-paced thriller, packed with characters, tension and fine detail.
Choice Magazine