Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Starter Wife

The Starter Wife

A gripping psychological thriller, for fans of My Lovely Wife and The Wife Between Us.

Claire Westcott tries to be the perfect wife to Byron but fears she will never measure up to his ex, Colleen. After all, it’s hard to compete with the dead.

Colleen went missing eight years ago. Her body was never found but the police ruled it a suicide. So when Claire receives a phone call from a woman she believes is Colleen, it sparks a million terrifying questions.

Claire discovers the couple weren’t as happy as they would have people believe. And now she’s worried Byron has been lying to her.

There are secrets in every marriage, but sometimes those secrets are deadly.

What people are saying about THE STARTER WIFE

‘If you are looking for an original domestic thriller than look no further than this one. I was completely hooked and read this in one greedy sitting

‘OK this one got me. Read this in one straight go and WOW was I surprised by the twist!! A great read with a lot of surprises’

‘I lose myself in domestic thrillers. This is no different. It totally messed with my head and is an absolute must read for fans of the genre’

‘Having read a lot of thrillers recently I’ve been eager to find one that’s original enough to avoid me seeing the twist a mile off and getting bored. ‘The Starter Wife’ by Nina Laurin absolutely delivered

‘An unexpected twist turned everything I thought I knew upside down

‘Devious and dark, completely addictive and utterly twisted and believable!!’

Wow – this was quite the page turner! I was on the edge of my seat as I sped through this book’

Obsession and delusion make this a dark, dark gripping story that stays in your stomach when you turn the last page’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th June 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781529325522

Reviews

Psychological suspense doesn't come much grittier or more packed with satisfying twists and turns
Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award-winning author
A twisty, mind-bending thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat
USA Today
Every good thriller has a shocking plot twist. Girl Last Seen has many. Author Nina Laurin's eerie novel will stay with you for days, months, even years to come
Hello Giggles
- - Praise for Nina Laurin
-
- - Praise for The Starter Wife
-
Laurin, with her knack for psychological suspense, here portrays the effects of obsession in chilling detail as the facts of Claire's life are revealed. A spine-tingler
Booklist
Nina Laurin's psychological suspense thrill ride will have you ripping through its pages at warp speed
PopSugar
The bombshell plot twist toward the end will surprise most readers. Laurin knows how to ratchet up the suspense
Publishers Weekly