We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Up Beat and Down Dale: Life and Crimes in the Yorkshire Countryside

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781444708998

Price: £10.99

ON SALE: 19th July 2012

Genre: Biography & True Stories / Memoirs

Select a format:

Paperback
Mike Pannett, once of the Metropolitan Police, is back in Yorkshire, policing one of the largest rural beats in England. Mike is called to investigate a series of burglaries, which are sending shock waves through the area. Remote farmhouses appear to be the targets, which stretches Mike’s small team to the limits. Then, as winter sets in, two dogs are found running loose – Mike fears the owner has gone missing in the dreadful weather and is forced to call on a full-scale search. Throw in a night-time operation in an empty museum, and the harrowing business of taking three children into care against their mother’s wishes, and it’s quite a case-load for the author of Now Then, Lad, You’re Coming With Me, Lad, Not On My Patch, Lad and Just the Job, Lad.

For fans of Gervase Phinn and James Herriot.

Reviews

'a warm and entertaining read'.
<i>Choice</i>
Pannett, the James Herriot of policing, tiptoes his way through domestic issues, stag nights, and sword-wielding madmen bent on decapitation and tells his tales with warmth and humour.
<i>Daily Express</i> on <i>You're Coming With Me Lad</i>
Move over James Herriot and Gervase Phinn - there is a new name on the North Yorkshire literary block.
<i>York Press</i>
Think 21st-century Heartbeat meets James Herriot with the occasional white-knuckle ride of The Sweeney thrown in. All delivered with a Yorkshire twang.
The <i>Telegraph<i>
'After years in the Metropolitan Police, on the beat in central London, Mike Pannett is hoping for a quieter life when he moves back to his home county, Yorkshire. But crime lurks amid the hills and dales, moors, villages and towns and he finds some of the policing tactics he's learned in London come in very useful. More tales from this Yorkshire bobby, who is building a loyal collection of fans with his engaging books.'
<i>Choice Magazine</i>